Yesterday on Fleming Family Farm

in #homesteading6 years ago

Weedeating, trellising, and prepping for company/cooking


It was another one of those random days where I seem to be able to pile a large number of things in to the limited amount of time allotted. I honestly feel that the change in my diet has helped increase my energy levels and ambition a lot. I have been having more of these days since my change so I can say there is a positive correlation.

The day started with the boys hanging out with the baby birds for a while. It is a good thing they are behind the mesh as R wants to hold them badly, but that toddler grip is still too uncoordinated. We are holding the geese a good amount though as they need to be mellow with us when they grow up. Overnight we lost one of the baby turkeys which is unfortunately an all to common occurrence. The first few days are the most precarious for baby birds and turkeys are just so damned fragile .

IMG_20180511_111018787_HDR.jpg

I was able to get the boys playing on their own for a while which allowed me to get the trellis netting up on 2 of the pea rows. I am still missing a fence post for the 3rd row, which I will find today. The netting is tied tightly on either end and then in the middle I have a stake holding the netting down to the ground. I'm pretty happy with the feel of the netting this year. Prior years the netting did not get set as tight so it had trouble once weighted with growing plants.

IMG_20180511_125005286.jpg

After getting R down for his nap around 1 pm I got to weed eat, which the farm needs. I try very hard to keep up on the trimming for a few reasons. One main one being fire control/mitigation, another is the cut grass is easily raked up and fed to the animals. If I were to use a lawnmower for cutting the grass it would end up in little shreds and pieces, but the weedeater cuts it off so I have full length grass that is just like unbaled hay.

This was my view for a couple hours.

IMG_20180511_140725150.jpg

It really is bit like a walking meditation. Step, swing, step, swing, step, swing. Ear plugs in so I hear my breath and my heart pumping with a background roar of the engine. On flat ground one can mostly check out and fall into the rhythm of the process. This short clip is my WEEDEATING FPV.

The end result is well worth the effort. Though not a huge area, this section of our land grows very thick if I allow it to go and contains a number of locally listed noxious weeds. I make sure to cut the worst of the bad weeds down so they don't go to seed and spread even more.

It is pretty obvious where the sheep pen is by the lack of anything green on the hillside. The bulk of their pen space is on the upper property on the plateau. They have done a solid job of dealing with the undergrowth and have trimmed up a lot of the Fir trees within their reach.

IMG_20180511_144423357.jpg

After I finished the weedeating I had enough time to get things prepped for dinner. @stryeyz had her 2 co-workers over to see the new birds, the farm, the boys, and for dinner after they were off work. I had rolls rising in the afternoon, made a quick rhubarb crisp/bake thing, got the ground beef mixed and setting in fridge and the bbq going all before they got here.

The evening went well and they enjoyed their meal and their visit. By the end of the day I was beat and as soon as our oldest boy went to bed, I was crawling into mine.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77