My first honey harvest and how I got there!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I had my first honey harvest and I can't wait to tell you all about it!!!

_MG_3412.jpg

I am taking this opportunity to share with you apart from my experience some of my bee series shots. I have used some of this shots randomly for a few contests but never in a complete post about bees.

_MG_3439.jpg

The first time I attended a hive inspection was three years ago and it was thrilling! Bees are amazing creatures, the perfect example of collective work and much more interesting than anyone, that isn't familiar with them, might think. I was astonished when I realized that every hive has its own character that changes when a new queen bee comes! Over time I could tell if something is wrong by their sound and I could understand if a day is just not the one to annoy them :)

_MG_3462.jpg

My first bee hive come as a present during a dinner party where I expressed my interest about them. A beekeeper that was there offered me one of its own even though we have never met before! Just one more taste of Cretan hospitality :)

.

.

My partner was as ignorant, about beekeeping, as I was and the first time we opened a hive by ourselves we were ridiculously nervous, I could barely hold a frame without dropping it! But as we kept dealing with them things was getting better. Still have a lot to learn but the hard part is behind. We read a lot and have tried out many techniques, we doubled the original hive, we even caught a runaway swarm but till now their honey production was too low to deprive it from them.

_MG_3587.jpg

_MG_3635.jpg

.

But this year we had an unexpected break! Eastern Crete, where I live suffered by a very dry winter and all the wild vegetation is barely surviving. This is the same vegetation that bees are fed off, so in general it was a bad year for honey production. On top of that and against the advice of all the experienced bee keepers we have talked about it, we didn't fed our bees at all, with sugar or other substitutes, so we didn't expect from them any production. Our happiness was double knowing that despite the extreme whether we collected 100% pure, organic honey in a moderate, but enough for our home, quantity!

_MG_7920.jpg

The procedure itself is quite simple. The first step is to open the hive and remove one by one the frames that are filled with honey. The frames in the middle are the ones that usually the queen is giving birth, so we do not take them. Then we throw the bees that are sitting on the frames we want to take, back in the hive and rearrange the remaining frames so that there is no gap from one to another.

.

.

Then we put the frames in a spare hive for safe transportation and went to a friend beekeeper that has a honey extractor for the second step. There we removed the layer of wax that was sealing the honey and put the frames into the extractor. A few minutes spinning to the left, a few minutes spinning to the right and this is it, the honey is coming out from the bottom of the extractor!

_MG_7957.jpg

.

The next step is just pleasure! Filling jars and tasting! The honey we took is a mixture of thyme, sage and other herbs along with fruit trees that blossom during spring and summer. Quite a unique taste, I am so proud of it :)

_MG_7999.jpg

The next day we returned the drained frames back into the hives so that the bees can eat what is left and repair the damages I did, trying to unseal the honeycombs. We are so happy and so grateful for this harvest that I really cannot fully express it with words!

Thank you for taking the time to read it through, I think this was the longest post I have ever written :)

_MG_3510.jpg

All the pictures and the words are mine.

If you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.
Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Wow, it's a very interesting process and it's great that you've made the decision to take care of something as valuable to nature as bees are, it's not been a simple process, but with effort everything can be done in the end! the photos are magnificent, I want to have a hatchery for me and lots of honey!

Wow it was so neat to see the process through your beautiful pictures.

Wow it was so neat
To see the process through your
Beautiful pictures.

                 - sjarvie5


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you Sara for stopping by!
I am really excited with this process :)

Wow your story sounds so interesting @fotostef ! I love this "every hive has its own character that changes when a new queen bee comes"
And all your photos are beautiful as always.

Thank you @livvu for your comment! You are always so supportive and sweet :)

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi fotostef,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

@fotostef The bees are incredible and very hardworking and united. Excellent your first gift from the beekeeper who noticed your interest and wanted to have a beautiful gesture of welcome to that interesting world of beekeeping. I am very happy for the pure and delicious honey that they collected to consume at home with the family enjoying the delicious flavor that it has. I was fascinated by the explanation of all the procedure you gave us in detail. Very happy here for the harvest you got. Congratulations on your great work. A big greeting.

Look at that honey! I wouldn't mind having some, it was sure an amazing and rewarding harvest. Well, now you don't have to worry about the source of your honey because you are 100% sure of it. Thanks to the guy who gifted you your first bee hive!

I have read about bees and how they behave but I have never had the opportunity to witness that in person, witnessing it must have been really exciting for you. Its really amazing how they are. I believe you enjoyed every step of your journey.

I love the photos of the bees and flowers, they are really beautiful. Hopefully, we are gonna see more honey harvests after this one!!

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very cool, that you bring us not only very good pictures of the bees, but also details on the harvest of the honey :-)

Honey is very healthy anyway. And if you make it yourself, it will be really tasty.

Do the bees don’t bite / sting you? :-)

Greetings from a big foodie! I’m in love with the self made honey 🍯😀

excellent post friend, full of important information and with super good images, it is interesting to learn about this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01