Watch Out For Ticks and Scorpions

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

When you're homesteading like us, you will find a lot of critters. From little ones to big ones.

Itchy Ticks

Yuck, I don't like ticks at all. We met a beekeeper who had Lymes disease because a tick bit him. It made him go to the hospital and after that he had trouble standing up straight and moving around.

We have a lot of ticks where we are because we have a lot of deer. And these ticks get on the squirrels, mice and bunny rabbits. Then they come close to the yard and our house so we see a lot of these blood suckers.

One day my sister and my mom went out and found this big tick crawling on our outside wall. We put tape around them. Sometimes we see ticks with white spots on the back.
tick.png

If you want to know more about Lymes disease there is a Wikipedia about it.

Lyme disease is transmitted to humans by the bite of infected ticks of the genus Ixodes.[6] Usually, the tick must be attached for 36 to 48 hours before the bacteria can spread.

So everytime we go out and come back in, Mom and Dad always check us for ticks and make sure they don't bite us overnight.

Snapping Scorpion

scorpion.png
We had 2 scorpions in the house last week. This one was crawling in the living room while we were cleaning.

These scorpions can sting you bad. What we see here often is the brown bark scorpion. Woooo, it's giving me chills.

There's more types of scorpions. Can you tell me which ones you see in your place?
https://www.abeepestpro.com/different-types-of-scorpions-identification-chart/

Hopefully my mom can finish editing the videos we took so you can see the bobcat and tarantula we caught on video.

PS. I like to read some great comments I hope you can stop by and say hello!

And btw, if you find my post interesting, you can also find other awesome posts from @tribesteemup.

Thanks @eco-alex for this logo!

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Incredible that scorpions and ticks so big come into your house. They must be careful because both are dangerous. We got a tick from a little dog and she could not save herself. There must be something that listens to those kinds of animals.

The scorpions and ticks can crawl in through the small cracks that's why they can get in our house. Yes ma'am those ticks are really nasty.

We have three dogs and in this Spring I had to check them for ticks every couple days. I picked more than a dozen all together, these things are really dangerous.

No scorpions in my area, thank God for that.

But we have snakes. My wife get scared every time one of them shows up, even though they are not venomous.

Oh no, I hope your dogs are ok. That's a lot of ticks. Yay no scorpions there, that's good.

We have snakes here too! The good snakes that eat the mice are plenty and we also have copperheads we don't like to be around here.

Yeah, the dogs are fine. You live in a quite dangerous place I would say.

We don't get scorpions or ticks as a usual homestead guest but black widows and snakes are abundant in our area. We have to always be watching. Hope you are observant and can avoid these guys in the future.

Black widows! We had a tarantula the other day and I almost didn't see it. My dad did and pointed it out.

Oh yeah, we watch out for snakes. When we let the chickens out they find a lot of garden snakes and frogs. My mom got 4 copperheads last year trying to get to the chicken run.

Those chicken coops can be VERY dangerous if your aren't paying attention.

Thankfully I have only ever been bitten by one tick and that was in Idaho. We have them here in Alberta too but I have not seen one yet. I think they are one of the nastiest bugs.

Ticks are eeew. I hope they're not as bad there since it's way cooler.

I pretty sure they aren't as bad here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11