Garden Update

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

_MG_7967.jpg

_MG_7969.jpg


Happy Saturday everyone,

I know it hasn't been that long since my last garden update but I am pretty excited with the progress I'm seeing so I wanted to share it with you!

To start with I am so pleased that this rose bush is putting out healthy little roses again - the whole bush was plagued by very irritating caterpillars which ate almost everything, you can see a bit of the damage in the second photo on the right. I battled them with soap water and won! Hallelujah.


_MG_7982.jpg

_MG_8022.jpg

_MG_7993.jpg

_MG_7998.jpg

_MG_8025.jpg


Next up are my root trainers. I love these things! As you can see I have a whole tray dedicated to sugar peas - they are my favourite and it's crazy that this is my first time growing them. Continuing on from that I have some dwarf French beans which are coming on tremendously well and some Calabrese broccoli.

My purple and golden podded peas are growing prolifically which is awesome. I am really intrigued to see how they turn out as I had never heard of them before, let alone seen them!

Last on the rack are some small Twilight chilli bushes - they had seeded around the big main chilli bush I have in the corner of the poly so I thought it would be good to transplant the little seedlings and grow them all over the place. There is no such thing as too many chillis in my house!


_MG_8000.jpg

_MG_8002.jpg

_MG_8019.jpg

_MG_8009.jpg


The plant beds are also coming along strong: the spinach is looking healthy, the garlic is shooting up very quickly and the radishes and rainbow carrots are happily growing away too.

I am yet to see growth from the parsnips, Rodelika carrots, cauliflower, red onions and sweet peas. Hopefully soon!


_MG_7938.jpg


To finish off my gardening this morning I cleared out the watermelon plants from the raised box and picked the last of the crop. I think I had left this one slightly too long on the plant but it was still tasty.

Now the raised box is empty I am planning on planting my purple and golden podded peas in there, but first I need to create a netted cover surrounding the box to shield the plants from pesky chomping bugs. I shall be featuring that in my next update!

That's all for now - I hope you enjoyed looking through and seeing what I have got growing in my garden.

Please link me to your latest gardening posts in the comments - I always love reading about and seeing others' gardens!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Nice crisp shots as always @gardeningchef! Those little seedlings sprouting up in your polytunnel look like they will grow up nice and healthily, great work you clearly have the green thumb.

Glad you got rid of those pesky caterpillars, the roses can flourish to their full potential now!

Upvoted and Resteemed!

Thanks so much for your kind comment @magiccleatus - I am learning more and more about gardening every day and loving every minute of it.

I am so relieved the caterpillars are gone - they were really destructive! It's lucky the roses have bounced back so quickly.

Thank you for the U&R!

Hi GC love all the greenness happening in your garden right now, and super happy to hear you succeeded with those dear little roses! What pretty colours they are. Your photos are wonderful quality as always. Mmmm homegrown watermelon must be sooooo tasty!!!!
I can’t wait to see your purple peas too They sound amazing!Upvoted and resteemed! 😍🌈🦋🌴💛

Hey @sallybeth23! Yes indeed it's great the roses are pulling through. Glad you like the photos :)

As soon as I have pea pods I shall be sharing them with you all! Exciting times ahead.

Thanks so much for your support!

Hi GC!
Thank you for your garden update, I love to see how your garden grows!
Very interesting and wonderful photography also.

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thank you @icedrum! It's growing pretty well right now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05