Blueberry fields forever

in #homesteading5 years ago

I went to the blueberry farm the other day to pick the first round of berries. I got nine pounds in about an hour. It was a beautiful sunny day with a light breeze, which kept me a little cooler than I might otherwise have been.

IMG_20190807_163913582.jpg

The bushes are quite a bit taller than I am, and under the canopy are little tunnels filled with berries and birds. It always feels a little magical under there. Even if there are other people picking berries, it's easy to feel solitary and cocooned in silence.

IMG_20190807_163942696_HDR.jpg

The farm provides ladders for those who want to pick from the top of the bushes, but I've never felt that is necessary. There are plenty of berries within my reach, so schlepping a ladder around seems like way more work than I want to commit to.

IMG_20190807_165214497.jpg

This is another situation where I found myself wishing I had a drone so I could take a picture of the whole farm. There's no way to get any sense of perspective, except for my own very limited one.

IMG_20190807_171640315_HDR.jpg

I got up really early the next day and made a batch of blueberry-lime jam and a batch of blueberry syrup. Both recipes were new to me, and the jam was pretty amazing. The lime is a great addition that I wouldn't have thought of including. I will make one more batch of jam (maybe this morning, if there's time). The rest of the berries went into the dehydrator.

IMG_20190809_134506193.jpg

Veering in another direction, one of my hens was sitting on eggs in my flower garden. They hatched right before @viking-ventures and her family left, and her daughters didn't get to see the babies, so I promised them I would post a picture. Here's the new mom and her tiny fluffballs.

IMG_20190809_182817350.jpg

Have a great day, everyone! I'm off to the next thing, whatever that turns out to be!

Sort:  

Blueberries is one of my favorite fruits if i were on that farm my belly would be getting full before i would put any in the basket..lol...i love your idea of lime jam i don't mind it with a bit of a bounce :)

I really love them too, so I try to use as many as possible while they're here. The blueberry/lime jam recipe was in my canning cookbook. I would never have thought of it either, but it turned out pretty tasty.

I will sent you my address you can FedEx some of that lime jam to me might make it a big seller for you here in Thailand...lol :)

Hahahaha! Then I can quit the goat business and just make jam!

Posted using Partiko Android

You never know Thai's love sweet and sour products...hehe :)

Oh, my!! The last shot of the little chicks was so precious!!!! I know how fluffy and the cute little peeps they make!

You have such an amazing place there and I love that you love it!

I went blueberry picking, but they were wild, so even though they were abundant, nothing to the likes of yours! I have never seen them so tall!!! I also have never heard of blueberry-lime, but, it sounds interesting!! What proportions do you use of the lime? I have got to try it now. I want to know the flavor!

You have such a busy life and it is always interesting!!! Thanks for giving us a peek in!

!tip

This blueberry farm has been around for decades, and the bushes are huge! I found the blueberry/lime recipe in my canning cookbook.

4 1/2 cups blueberries
1 package powdered pectin
5 cups sugar
1 Tbsp grated lime peel
1/3 cup lime juice

Basically, crush the berries and combine with pectin and boil, then add sugar and cook until it's dissolved. Add peel and juice, boil hard for one minute, skim foam and put into jars. Totally delicious, and the lime cuts the super-sweetness of the berries and sugar. I usually only can what I can get around here, but I tried this one even though I had to buy limes from the store. Absolutely worth it! Please let me know if you try it!

My life is certainly busy, especially this time of year, but it's a rewarding one! Thanks for peeking!

Organic blue berries. ☺️

They are heavenly!

Would love to learn to make jam one day!
That farm looks amazing with tunnels of berry bushes.
That mother hen is so beautiful with her little babies! You’ll have more hens laying eggs soon!

If you have fruit (which I imagine you do) you can easily learn to make jam. It's very easy, and really fun!

I hope all the babies are hens in the making! We usually end up with a bunch of roosters that end up in the freezer!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope to learn to make jam one day!

Oh! Dear chickens! I hope they are all hens!

I hope they are all hens too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Mmm blueberries...

We used to go blueberry picking in Michigan, when I was a kid. It was always a painful experience for me, since it takes forever to fill six huge buckets with the little things. One time, I caught some kids reaching between the bushes into our buckets to take handfuls and eat them. APparently, they couldn't be bothered to pick their own to eat. Later, I heard their mother say, "Eat them now. We're not buying any." Ugh.

They are quite tastey, though. Blueberry pancakes with blueberry syrup is a favorite recipe at my parents' home. Pie too, of course, in a few different varieties. Never heard of blueberry lime as a combination.

I used to do strawberries with my mom when I was a kid. I had the same experience. It takes forever to fill a bucket when your hands are so small! I never had cross-bush stealing to contend with, though. That's just mean!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh look at those little chicks. Aren't they gorgeous!

They're super cute!

Posted using Partiko Android

Blueberry-lime jam

Sounds terrible. NOT! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha! It's pretty tasty, I have to say. The lime cuts some of the sweetness and gives it a little bounce.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't say I've made jam...Eaten a lot though. 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Jam is the easiest thing to can. And so satisfying!

Posted using Partiko Android

Me likey on toast...

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Look at those little cuties!

I want some jam :)

Seriously, I'll send you some! Not even joking!

Should i send you my address here? I wonder if that's safe? I probably sound silly but...

Email me! [email protected]. You don't sound silly. Just cautious. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Is that dot at the end part of the email? I''l try it now :)

my email is

[email protected]

Fantastic...🤗@goat-girlz
My bears would be very very happy there in blueberry paradise...!!!
I have never had or heard of blueberry lime jam. Sounds absolutely wonderful...🤗 and yummy..
:D

Should I send you some blueberries to feed your bears? Ha ha. I am picturing them marauding through the berry bushes. It's a pretty funny image.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11