My dog is stoned! And some Thursday green

in #homesteading5 years ago

I am still trying to get my equilibrium back after the excitement with the little goats. I took the vintage dog to the vet this morning because she slipped while we were on a walk last week and has been complaining about it ever since. This involved an early morning drive down the highway to Astoria. It's a beautiful drive that takes about an hour, but I don't have any pictures because I was driving and Trixie doesn't know how to take pictures with my phone. I swear, you think your dog is smart, and they let you down! The vet had to sedate her to get an x-ray, and she's been loopy ever since.

IMG_20190606_173611022.jpg

She hasn't broken or dislocated anything, so she will be on pain meds and anti-inflammatories for the next little while. This is a little annoying, because a friend came over the other day and took a look at the dog and brought me the same meds Trixie has been prescribed! So I spent all the time and money going to the vet when I already had the meds for free!

Here are a couple of pictures I took at Tracy's while we were waiting to see if Lucy was actually going to have babies.

IMG_20190604_183439373.jpg

IMG_20190604_174441141_HDR.jpg

Here's the first clematis bloom of the season. I will post pictures when the whole back of the house is covered in purple.

IMG_20190604_143323178_TOP.jpg

And here's a sweet picture of Carl with his head in my son's lap. We had been hanging out with the goats, just relaxing after having worked really hard, and the goats came and relaxed with us.

IMG_20190604_133043994_HDR.jpg

I feel like this post is a bit of a letdown after the furor yesterday's post incited, but I can't manufacture that kind of drama! Some days are just quieter than others. And some bloggers are more tired than others. And this blogger is going to feed all her animals and maybe herself and then sink into bed to sleep until at least 5:00 tomorrow. That's the goal, anyway!

IMG_20190605_113447478_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Get well soon Trixie!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love that crazy tree shot, that is just my style :)

Some days are diamonds, some days are rocks. I am dropping this comment and going to bed too.

Thank you! I was just lying on the grass under the tree and there was the shot.

Here's to finding the diamond days!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhh doggo. I'm glad she's ok :)

Awww, poor doggie! Hope gets better soon! My dog is a drama queen ahahaha

I suspect mine is too!

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw one at the vet's office yesterday that looked just like yours! I would have taken a picture but I think the owner would have been creeped out.

Posted using Partiko Android

hahahaha yeah that would look kind of weird!

You deserve a nice relaxing day after assisting with Lucy’s birthing yesterday. ♥️

Awww poor puppy! I hope she feels better soon. You don't have to use those awful steroid pain meds, do you?

My big, brown coonhound-mutt had a pinched nerve, that left him literally screaming in pain several times a day. We ended up getting those for him, but it was too cold for him to be outside. I was taking care of the poor guy while my parents were away. Those meds made him super thirsty and unable to control his bladdr, so I was constantly cleaning up huge puddles of pee off the floor. Ugh.

She's on an opioid pain killer and an NSAID. The opioid should keep her quiet for a few days so her leg can heal. She hasn't been very interested in food for the last week, so hopefully when the pain subsides her appetite will come back. She's supposed to be on bed rest. Poor baby. At least she gets to stay kind of loopy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awwww, a loopy pooch! I don't suppose chicken scraps would help with the appetite? :-)

She gets a raw egg on her food anyway, or fresh goat milk. I could try meat, though. It might sound more tempting to her. That's a good idea.

Posted using Partiko Android

This was a great post... ":-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75