Sublime Sunday, with baby goats!

in #homesteading5 years ago

I am keeping an eye on the new goat babies while their humans are out of town, just to make sure they are nursing well and growing as they should be. They are already starting to hop and play, which is pretty funny. They fall over more often than not. As usual, I got more blurry pictures than good ones, but I got a few.

IMG_20190608_133510497.jpg

They were napping when I got there, so there was quite a bit of stretching when they got up.

IMG_20190608_132523778.jpg

The little guy had a quick snack. It looks like he enjoyed it.

IMG_20190608_133655986.jpg

The kids have been nursing only on one side of Lucy's udder, which leaves the other side painfully full. I milked her out a little to relieve the pressure. Once the kids start eating in earnest, that problem will solve itself. They are still learning how the world works right now.

IMG_20190608_133717547.jpg

We leave the new mothers closed up in a separate pen with their babies for about a week after the kids are born. This promotes good bonding between mother and kids, and lets us keep a closer eye on all of them to make sure there aren't any complications that need our attention. Once they get to go outside, the fun really begins!

IMG_20190608_134228158.jpg

This early phase is so much fun, though. The kids are skinny little things with spindly legs, curious about anyone who comes to see them. The mothers are generally wary of strangers petting their babies, but Lucy knows me really well so she doesn't get concerned when I am there. I actually attended her birth, too! She is Carl and Leonard's sister, for anyone who remembers them.

IMG_20190608_134344166.jpg

After hanging out with the kids for a while, I wandered around the farm with the older dogs. The puppies who live there are busy tearing up my house, and I think the grown-up dogs are glad to have a break from them.

I may or may not have eaten a few strawberries. The ones at my house are still green, and these were so beautiful I couldn't resist!

IMG_20190608_135651059.jpg

I went into the hoop house to see how the tomatoes are coming along. I didn't stay very long, though, because it was like a sauna in there! Great for tomatoes, way too much for the goat girl!

IMG_20190608_135911446.jpg

I took the dogs across the dike road and down onto the dock, just to see what was going on over there. I caught a picture of a bumblebee dancing on a blackberry blossom.

IMG_20190608_134908435.jpg

Here are some little mystery flowers. I don't know what they are, but I thought they were lovely.

IMG_20190608_135458375.jpg

I took about 100 pictures of raindrops on things, but I will save most of them for another post. I will just share this one for now. I love that I can see the reflection of the rest of the grass in this single drop.

IMG_20190608_135958920_HDR.jpg

Have a fabulous Sunday, everyone!

Sort:  

The goat babies look so amazing, Wow, I like them :-) I wish you also a fabulous Sunday and I hope you keep us in touch how the babies develop.

Thank you! I will keep taking pictures of them for sure. They just get cuter!

Look at those lil goofballs : ) :)

Got to take lots of pictures now while they're still cute! I could show up tomorrow and they would be ugly! Just kidding. ;)

Hahaha :) They'll always be be cuties

Awww so cute! Soon they will be playing outside with the rest!

I will definitely go back and get pictures of that!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Lovely kid! Hope they grow up quickly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They grow up so quickly!

Awwwww... cute! They remind me of my coonhound, when he was a puppy. The ears seemed to grow first! It's amazing how quick some creatures are up on their feet and prancing around. The bison are like that, too.

It always astounds me when they are up and nursing so quickly! They will sort of grow into their ears, but luckily they stay pretty long. They always look ridiculously long when they are first born.

Thanks for all the kid pictures... too cute for words.... :-)

You're welcome! They are in the top five cutest things ever!

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

They look muscular when they stretch. I always think of them as chubby little things as kids but they are certainly not when they get ready to leap about.

Posted using Partiko Android

They're super skinny for the first week or so. Then they start to plump up. Early on they're all legs and ears. So cute.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love seeing the goats and the baby one. That strawberry looks so good i can smell it. 😊 Great flower photos and droplet. !tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09