The unplanned Steemit vacation

in #homesteading5 years ago

It's been a while since I managed a post, and I can't blame it all on the royal forking. It's been a busy week, which began with finally finishing the clipping from the goats' last job. Here's what it looked like when they started.

IMG_20190717_113517794.jpg

Here's the panoramic shot.

IMG_20190717_113527132.jpg

After a month of endless snacking and a lot of work on my part, here's what it looks like.

IMG_20190901_120838412_TOP.jpg

And again with the panoramic shot.

IMG_20190901_120753837.jpg

If my customer could afford it, I could have had the goats there for six months, but she only wants to focus on keeping the blackberries from covering the house.

I've been farm-sitting for my friend this week. She's the one who adopted the kittens I rescued a few months ago. Here's what they looked like when I had them.

IMG_20190601_153549369.jpg

Here they are now. The little boy on the left is named Ace, and the girl is Winnie, because I found them in a Winnebago.

IMG_20190901_143234466.jpg

I was taking care of her goats, too. They were pretty easy to care for, since they have a huge pasture to chew on and really only needed their water checked.

IMG_20190902_143245522.jpg

That's the new little buck. He's too young to be stinky yet, and he's super friendly. The big buck will be sold so they can keep the gene pool from stagnating, and this little guy will take his place. The older buck has gotten quite bossy now that breeding season is in full swing. The older wether (neutered male) used to be in charge of the herd, but the buck took over. Whitey is a pretty depressed and hangs out by himself. I made sure to give him lots of love when I was there.

IMG_20190902_143429692.jpg

I'll close with a shot of their barn, which I love.

IMG_20190906_071441.jpg

Have a great day, everyone, and I will try to be better about posting. I promise.

Sort:  

$trdo

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @goat-girlz!
@goat-girlz got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Very nice! I love the before/after shots of the boys' work.
You're getting tree color already... I was noticing that a lot when we traveled north from you. Fall may come quickly/early.

Thank you! I can't believe the leaves are changing already. It seems so early, but I know it's not. Sigh....

@goat-girlz, Now I understand why You have been absent for a long time :)) You have done a great job. Your photos with great contrast of what was and how it is now. It's nice to see interesting photos about animals again. I wish you a pleasant weekend (I hope that Your worries will give way to a good rest :))

Thank you! It is a lot of work, but it's always satisfying when it's done. You have a pleasant weekend as well! I am hoping for a restful one, but time will tell...

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

So everyone and everything has been really busy your way, by the look of it.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Must feel good to find a home for the cats :-)

It sure does! I would have loved to keep them, but the older cats would never have put up with that.

I have 11 house cats and find that challenging at times... Found out an older supermarket check out woman has 29 house cats... and just had a shelter come and neuter them all. I don't know if she has help with them or not...

Good grief! 29 house cats? That's a lot of litter box cleaning! I once knew someone whose cat used the toilet. That seems like the only way to go with that many. You have a lot of cats, but you seem to have remained pretty sane. :)

Hi Ace and Winnie and everyone :)

Hi! They sure are cute!

All your animal friends are!

😊 Hello!!
@goat-girlz
So Glad to see a post from you.
I truly noticed you kinda disappeared. I was worried you might have gotten lost or trapped in a briar patch 🙃
Wow... That's a wonderful red barn !! The kittens look happy and healthy. ❤🤗.
:D

Yeah, I kind of went off the grid for a while. I've been so tired it's been hard to make myself do anything after work. I'm keeping the briar patches to a minimum for the moment.

Poor Whitey. What a handsome guy, old or not. That is impressive work those goats did. Your job sounds lovely. I hope there are enough blackberry bushes to make a proper batch of jam next year.

They are little eating machines! There's no shortage of blackberries. I made a big batch of jam this year. No matter how many the goats and I take down, there are always more!

Hi @goat-girlz,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Cool Farm is there :) ... And looks you had warm day what strong sun up in sky :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17