The Unsuccessful Castration - A Wednesday Walk

in #homesteading5 years ago

Yesterday we went out to the family farm because there is a new little bull calf who needs to become a steer. Making steers is my job now, although I've only done it once. That time, it was really easy to catch the calf because he had a bad case of pinkeye and didn't see me coming. I managed to tackle him and my son and his cousins held him down while I did the nasty business and gave him a good dose of antibiotics for the pinkeye. This time was not so easy. We found the calf napping all alone under the chestnut tree, which seemed like a lucky break, since his mother and the rest of the herd were grazing way over on the other side of the property.

IMG_20191001_151614806_TOP.jpg

My son had a cargo net. The plan was to throw the net over the calf to snare him until I could get there to hold him. Ha. In spite of being just a few days old, the little guy can really move. He trotted away down the field, and my son crept slowly after him. I was flanking him, hoping to corner the calf between the barbed wire fence and the slough. Ha again. He panicked and popped right through the fence into the neighboring field, where the resident cows gave him the once over. One of them kept following him around, while he yelled pitifully for his mother.

IMG_20191001_152932481.jpg

I should mention that running through this field is impossible. The ground is soft most of the year, and cows are heavy. They make deep imprints in the ground, and although we've had some rain, it hasn't been enough to soften all those divots. You have to keep an eye on your feet everywhere you go, or you'll step wrong and roll your ankle. Here's a slightly closer shot of the poor baby being trailed by the curious cow.

IMG_20191001_152937940.jpg

There was nothing more we could do from there, so we walked back out of the field. In the meantime, dad had gotten the tractor out and driven over to the neighboring field. He walked through the gate and through the much larger herd of cows and out to where the sad little baby was wandering around. He managed to corner him and get him to hop back through the fence, and I walked down to shoo him towards his herd. We figured he needed his mom pretty badly by this point.

IMG_20191001_153151585.jpg

My son went out in the field with the herd, trying to push the calf into a corner where I could grab him.

IMG_20191001_154510172_HDR.jpg

No go once again, so we just stood and watched them for a while.

IMG_20191001_155008676.jpg

There was even some keep-a-way with a willow branch. Sorry about the hot wire in the middle of her face.

IMG_20191001_155749399.jpg

In the end, we decided to call it a day, and just sat on the porch swing with some cold beer for the guys and a glass of very bad wine for me. That was a lot of walking over fairly difficult terrain to come out empty-handed, but you can't win them all. Sometimes you just have to tip your hat to the animals and walk away. But we'll be back, little guy. Sorry.

In case anyone is interested, banding a calf is pretty simple. Here are the tools.

IMG_20191002_155436333.jpg

You put the little rubber band over the spikes on the elastrator like this.

IMG_20191002_155452699.jpg

Then squeeze the handles to open the band. The rest should be pretty self-explanatory without me giving you the details, which nobody of the male persuasion wants to hear anyway. It's not as bad as it sounds, really. When we band the goats, they are uncomfortable for a couple of hours, and then they forget all about it.

IMG_20191002_155510069.jpg

When we got back in the car to head home, I tossed the elastrator on my dashboard. I forgot it was there and drove all over town today doing errands with this thing right above my steering wheel. I thought it was pretty funny when I finally noticed it.

IMG_20191002_154154997_HDR.jpg

I should have prefaced this post by saying that none of us are cowboys. I am a goat girl, and I'm only dealing with the cows because the relatives who have been doing it are now too old to be chasing calves around fields. I know exactly one person who can rope cattle, and I will be calling him tomorrow to come catch this little guy for me. Maybe he will teach me how to throw a lasso! I would love to add that to my resume. Then banding calves would involve a lot less walking! I will close with a shot of the bull, who is very impressive but not actually scary. He's pretty gentle.

IMG_20191001_155812495_HDR.jpg

Have a wonderful evening, everyone! And guys, stay away from my car! Just kidding...

Sort:  

When I saw the title of this post I thought you were going to write about some guy who's wife tried to take him to divorce court :-)

I went with the literal definition this time!

Yeah, sorta on the wrong side of the state for ropers... I hope you get the job done quickly next time you're out.

Hahahaha! Indeed! At least I know the one guy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! When I was much younger we farmed and had a herd of 80 mother cows. All of those boy calfs had to be castrated and we had some really protective mama cows that attempted to do you serious harm if you got near their calfs. Lots of adventures!

I was a little worried about the mama cow getting upset. That's why we thought we were golden when we found the calf all alone. Oh well, maybe next time...

We used to drive out and put the calf into the back of the pickup truck... And sometimes had mama cows trying to climb the side of the truck!

Hahaha! That's an awesome mental image!

What a job... ugh

Not necessarily my favorite job.

Very interesting story but I must say, I think I'm rooting for the calf at this point. Perhaps he figured out what you were up to.... Yikes!

Ha ha! I was secretly rooting for him too, even though there are already two bulls in the herd and we certainly don't need a third one.

It's not as bad as it sounds, really.

Says the @goat-GIRLz.

What a day! Better luck next time.
Poor calf! But what's got to be done, got to be done. 😊

Thank you! I will need all the luck I can get!

This story reminds me of my friend who's had her haemorrhoids banded. Although she assures me nobody chased her over a field!

Hahahaha! That's quite an image! I will be laughing about that all day!

When I saw the title I had to come and visit this post, quite a saga you had trying to catch the calf better luck next time, visiting and helping out on my uncls farm when I was young i know the process both of castration and banding helped with it many times, not sure I would be up to doing it now I am not as young and fit as I used to be

I'm not as young either! I figured you would get a kick out of it. Good to know you have some experience! I wasn't expecting that. It involved a lot of walking so I thought I could call it a Wednesday walk without getting into too much trouble.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well you walked a lot so for sure it counts as a walk for me, I think most of us kiwis ( New Zealanders) around my age probably spent some time on a farm :)

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6750 replies. Your next target is to reach 7000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83