My "Cheapie" solar system

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hidey Ho Steemians!!!! I thought I'd share with you my inexpensive solar power system. This is a video, that I posted on Youtube quite a few years ago now, and it's been my most popular video there. Google unfortunately won't let me monetize it though. The all knowing and great oracle of google in the sky won't tell me why either. The video has had over 307,000 views!!! You'd think they would have taken advantage of the advertising possibilities. There's a 5 second shot of a solar system that I grabbed off of the "Harbor Freight" website, and maybe the algorithmic computer gods at google are scared of copyright issues. (Despite the video being a fantastic advertisement for Harbor Freight, and I'm sure they'd love it.) Anyhow, I hope you guys here on Steemit enjoy it, and maybe get a couple of ideas for your own system.

This is a small setup, designed to give us a few LED lights, and maybe a fan, or radio in a power outage.

Yes I talk slowly, yes I mispronounced the word roof, no I didn't steal anything - Everything was collected with permission, no I don't care about "Building code" issues. These are the issues that the trolls on Youtube have criticized me for over and over and over again on this video.

Enjoy!!!

Sort:  

Solar is the option in places which get sunlight all year long and also it is best if you get a great battery to store all that power for using at night time!

@fury123 that is true if Only my Government in Nigeria can work on Solar Energy we wont have power problem because there is enough Sun shine through out the year. I wish Google and Bill gate can do something about the cost of solar panels imported to Africa.

I now have 5 of the Harbor Freight kits.... I use 3 marine batteries to store power. Important to forget "Cold Cranking amps", and concentrate on "watt Hours".

I did similar thing in my office Solar Energy is the sure way Africa in particular.

good post

solar is the way to go , the future is solar power, unlimited ower forever

Thanks for the post that was really interesting.
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Solar is a nice alternative especially in countries without a steay power supply, nice video, you did good.

Hi! I am a @rakib05l. I just upvoted and follow you!
Impressive!Thanks for the post

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow, great job. Now following!

Congratulations @goathollow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76