Ulog 111: Huh? What Is This?

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

I've been on-the-look-out for various homesteading tools, non-electric ways of cooking and miscellaneous components to use around our homestead over the last few years; and I came across a box of free offerings a few weeks ago and I finally had a chance to sift through the items.

Most of the items in this large box consisted of percolators, old camping utensils and camping cook ware.

But this item? This one has me confused!

huh2.jpg

(Image above is the bottom view)

At first, my mind thought it could be a potato masher.

Perhaps a strainer? For when you making cheese.

Masher? Strainer?

Or is it some other kitchen tool? I am clueless.

I tried googling it too.

Keeping that in mind... how does one google such an unusual looking implement/tool?

(This image is the top view)

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

(Two images closer up of the top view)

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I know there are dozens and dozens more homesteaders out there to tag, but I can't recall all of them. Can anyone help me with this tool?

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Wow that is a cool tool. I am not too sure what it is though. It looks like some sort of a press. Pushing down from the top to seperate solids and liquids. Sweet find.

Maybe a half of a steamer? Drop that into a pot of boiling or steaming water, then when it's time to come out, just lift the whole thing up.

A Viking weapon?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you are right with masher and it probably had a specific purpose. What that purpose might have been, I have no clue!

No idea, but I love finding cool old tools and finding out how they were used. So I hope you post the answer, if someone knows!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.978 which ranks you at #1137 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1138).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #62.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It might be part of a cheese press or some other kind of press.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98