Basil and Green Peas

Basil - Sm. garden 1st harvest crop July 2018.jpg

The basil has not been doing well this year, with the night temps dropping to low 50’s or below. It’s been trying to bolt and I’ve been taking the buds off as I found them.

Today I decided to prune the ones in the Small garden back ½ to try for something of a harvest. The ones in the Small garden are doing marginally better than those in the Big garden, so that’s why they were selected. There was enough to nearly fill the 2 dehydrators.

Green peas - last harvest crop July 2018.jpg

This is the last of the green peas in the Small garden. We will be pulling the vines for composting and moving the fences to the garlic area in the Big garden, probably on Tuesday. I’m going to try for another crop of green peas.

I spent most of yesterday asleep or laying down reading. We were both wiped out from the roadtrip. I managed to get the post written and that was all I did.

This morning we had to move the pasture pen for the broilers and while I was still vertical, I harvested the peas and basil. Processing them was mostly a sitting job, just my speed today.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Nothing says summer like yummy fresh shell peas!

Yup, the old New England standard: green peas by the 4th of July...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93