February 6, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Primrose in living room crop Feb. 2019.jpg
Primrose in the living room

Wednesday my intern was here and I’d planned preserving ginger, making celery salt, and working up a chick order.

Ginger preserving - ingredients crop Feb. 2019.jpg

We did the ginger first. I usually use organic ginger, and this brand, Melissa’s.com, has organic but all I’d found this year was non-organic. I’d also gotten some vodka, but not organic, too pricy.

The jars behind the ginger are from previous batches. One I had grown, the other organic bought. We broke the ginger into pieces and fit it into the jar, then covered it with the vodka. It will keep a long time this way.

Celery salt - ingredients crop Feb. 2019.jpg

Then we moved onto making celery salt. I had already processed the celery (cleaning, chopping stems and leaves, blending, dehydrating, and blending the dehydrated to powder) so it was just a matter of mixing the salt and celery powder in the blender, to taste. A dusty job, soon done. We cleaned up the mess and moved onto chick orders.

Chick catalogs crop Feb. 2019.jpg

I’ve ordered from a lot of hatcheries over the years. We went over the pluses and minuses of various catalogs, and what sort of information one would seek and why.

Then we looked at various breeds and I explained why we chose the dual purpose breeds we had and our experiences with the various ones.

Layer ledger crop Feb. 2018.jpg

I got out my ledgers with information on each flock from the beginning, and she could see how I used this information from year to year.

Egg Charts crop Oct. 2016.jpg

I also got out the layer charts as the purpose of this exercise was to select a flock for her house and she could see how I had tracked the flock and the breeds in each and what the laying results were.

Then we went through the catalogs and looked at layer breeds in addition to dual purpose. She liked the Speckled Sussex and Americanas best. She wanted many colored eggs.

Primrose in kitchen crop Feb. 2019.jpg
Primrose on the kitchen table

Then she told me all about her family’s trip to Kenya for 2.5 weeks and showed me the photos. A really lovely morning. We had lunch and she walked up to the barn to see the hens and collect eggs.

When she left, I slept on the couch most of the afternoon. I’m still a long ways from recovered from this bug….

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30