@offgrid-online Contest #4 Favorite Hand Tools: My Favorite Tools

This is my favorite tool since 1984:

18.Roofing shovel1 crop.jpg

It is a roofing shovel, but I love the angle and the straight blade and strong long handle. I use it for making trenches, weeding, putting in edging, normal digging jobs, and other odd jobs.

But another item, not sure it's really a tool, is what I am sitting on. This item keeps me dry (er) and warm (er) when sitting on the cold ground to work. It means I spend less precious energy staying warm and so I can work a good deal longer.

Pam.clearing.garden.July.03.jpg

That's right, my trusty sheet of cardboard with a shiny label on the bottom side. I go through about 3 of them a year.

The third item:

Setting up crop May 2017.jpg

The sleds. I have a whole fleet of them. Because I can't work standing, I sit. Not having to reach up to put weeds into a wheelbarrow or tote saves me a lot of energy and so I can work longer. So these are indispensable for my garden work.

Also in this photo, sitting in the chair, is my memory, also not a hand tool but it is handwritten... This is the notebook with all my notes about the vegetable gardens. With the severe cognitive issues I deal with daily, this notebook is crucial to any success I have in the gardens.

These are the adaptive tools I've figured out so I can do what I do here. Without them, far less would get done.

Sort:  

Ah the cardboard!!! Fab. Love the photo of you!!! I use an old skimboard we find on the beach...

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.20USD as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon from various people at smartsteem!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Funny that that is a roofing shovel because I buy a similar shovel that is marketed as a gardening shovel for roofing.

I think this is the exact one I have actually:

https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.garden-care-spade-with-ash-wood-handle.1000129954.html

I've kept my eye out for one with a grip on it like yours. Not seen one yet.... I tend to look at tag sales, etc. as stores are often well out of my price range.

This post has won a 1 SBD Prize in the @offgrid-online Your Favorite Tool Contest. Thank you for sharing your favorite tools and how they make tasks easier :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70