Processing Broccoli

Big garden - broccoli2 crop July 2018.jpg

After going out and finding 15 large heads of broccoli, it suddenly became Broccoli Day on Tuesday.

Brocolli - 1-2 of 1st harvest crop July 2018.jpg
Half of the broccoli harvest, in my largest bowl

There looked to be so much of it, I decided to do half one day and finish the next day.

I broke it down and removed just a few cabbage worms, about a dozen, and the bowl was only half full. So I went out and got the rest.

Brocolli - soaking crop July 2018.jpg
Broccoli soaking for an hour to kill bugs

Brocolli - washing crop July 2018.jpg
Washing before blanching to freeze

After soaking in plain water for an hour, I washed handfuls of florets. Then they blanched for 3 mins and into an ice water bath.

I package them in 1½ pint freezer containers as there are often 3 of us for a meal. This lot gave me 8½ containers.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86