Rendering Lard

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I went to learn soapmaking on Sunday. But because soapmaking is a time consuming (weeks) process, I have not finished learning the entire thing. So I will post over the next few months as things progress.

Rendering lard1 crop Nov. 2017.jpg

So this is Part 1 about rendering the lard.

The equipment:

• Large pots
• Long handle spoon
• Thermometer
• Buttercloth for straining
• Large bowl for straining
• Large flat pan for hardening
• Vacuum sealer and bags or ziplock bags

The idea, last November, was to multi-task. While my husband was cold smoking his bacon, we would use 2 cast iron kettles I got on BuyNothing on top of his little wood stove to melt the lard.

Grinding pork fat2A crop Dec. 2013.jpg

We decided to grind the fat in a hand meat grinder because there wasn’t an awful lot of it and it would render faster in smaller pieces. But we quickly discovered that it was very hard to do by hand even cut into 1” – 2” pieces.

So we hauled out the #32 motorized grinder and it could only handle 2 -3 pieces at a time. We knew that sending it through a grinder would make tiny cracklings, but we were after the lard this time around.

We put the ground fat in the kettles to ¾ full with a small amount of water (½ cup) to just cover the bottom of the pot to prevent scorching before it really got melted. The water would boil off as soon as the fat melted. We also put in ½ teaspoon of baking soda in the small kettle and 1 teaspoon in the large one to whiten the lard. It will darken the cracklings though.

The first problem was the big kettle had a mended crack in the bottom, and it leaked when heated (we’d tested it cold with water….). So it was down to the small kettle for the job.

The next problem was it wouldn’t melt. Because he was doing a cold smoking, he kept the fire low. You want a low temperature just high enough to melt the fat but not scorch it. It wasn’t enough to melt the lard or render it. So we had to think of Plan B.

Induction cooktop crop June 2018.jpg

I had just received on BuyNothing this induction cooktop. I had never used one, but had attended a workshop where one was demonstrated. So we gave it a try. The outside temperatures were in the 50’s, and unusual for us, no wind.

Rendering lard2 crop Nov. 2017.jpg

We set-up on the picnic table and set the temperature between Low – Medium until the water was boiled off then set it slightly higher. We had to keep stirring most of the time as the cracklings would cook to the bottom

Rendering lard4 crop Nov. 2017.jpg

It took about 45 minutes to reach a 212F temperature and at 1 hour it had reached 250F. At that point we turned the temperature down to medium. The temperature should never exceed 255F. We kept a sharp eye on the temperature.

Rendering lard3 crop Nov. 2017.jpg

Some of the cracklings would float and we’d skim them off.

Rendering lard5 crop Nov. 2017.jpg

Once all the fat had rendered out of the cracklings, we strained it through buttercloth to remove sediment. The lard appears golden in the photo but it actually looked as clear as water to the eye.

Pan of lard crop Nov. 2017.jpg

We poured it into my oversize (12½” x 18”) roasting pans to harden.

Lard - frozen crop June 2018.jpg

Because I thought I’d be making soap in May 2018, I put the hardened lard in ziplock bags. But the soapmaking with my materials didn’t happen this spring and probably won’t until the autumn. I would have vacuum sealed it to preserve it from freezer scents for long term storage. I got 21 lbs for soapmaking.

Next up, rendering the suet to tallow before autumn….

Sort:  

I've been making soap for a few years, but I've never rendered my own lard. It's hard to find really good howtos for that sort of thing. Thanks! I'll be watching for future posts on soap making. 👍

Really cool to see the process of how its made! Thanks for sharing @goldenoakfarm!

Also..

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Thank you and I'd be delighted to be in your compilation.

Very cool! I will add it to the daily gogreenbuddy give away. This artile is very good.

Thanks! I'm glad you found it useful.

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$2.20 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

I am in the process of making tallow right now :)

Things are so crazy around here, I doubt I'll get to mine until autumn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11