Vinegar Done November 27, 2018 @goldenoakfarm

Vinegar crop Nov. 2018.jpg

Back on October 10th we ground the apples and I set the cider to turn:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/making-vinegar-november-15-2018-goldenoakfarm

Yesterday I decided the vinegar had been in my living room for long enough and brought it out to get ready to store. When I set it to turn, I decided to do an experiment. I put ½ cheesecloth with no mother added on 4 bottles, and ½ buttercloth with some real good mothers added on/in in the other 4.

Above, buttercloth on left, cheesecloth on right. There are some obvious differences, even though they started with exactly the same cider.

Vinegar - buttercloth mothers in jars crop Nov. 2018.jpg
The mothers from the buttercloth jars

In these jars I put big healthy mothers I had stored from previous batches. I did that because I was covering them with buttercloth and wasn’t sure the microbes for inoculation would get through. In previous years, I’d used cheesecloth per instructions and fruit flies got in and inoculated. Not crazy about that method…

Vinegar - buttercloth jars1 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

The color of the buttercloth jars was much lighter. You can see the long pieces from the mothers hanging down.

Vinegar - buttercloth jars sediment crop Nov. 2018.jpg

There was much less sediment.

Vinegar - buttercloth jars detrious crop Nov. 2018.jpg

And the tops of the jars were much cleaner.

Vinegar - cheesecloth mothers in jars crop Nov. 2018.jpg
The mothers from the cheesecloth jars

These mothers were much thinner, contaminated from the flies, and didn’t look as healthy.

Vinegar - cheesecloth jars1 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

These cheesecloth jars had a much deeper color.

Vinegar - cheesecloth jars sediment crop Nov. 2018.jpg

There was a lot more sediment.

Vinegar - cheesecloth jars detrious crop Nov. 2018.jpg

There was a lot of detritus around the tops of all the cheesecloth jars.

I removed all the mothers from all the jars using tongs. Tongs allow a quick grab, which is all you get before they sink. Then I cleaned the tops of the jars and filled them to the top. There had been a small amount of evaporation over the weeks.

Vinegar - finished crop Nov. 2018.jpg

I used the buttercloth jars to fill the half full cheesecloth jar. I then used that same one to fill the remaining buttercloth jars. I had a pint leftover. I labeled the jars and dated them. They went down to the root cellar.

Vinegar - buttercloth mothers crop Nov. 2018.jpg
Buttercloth mothers

The one in the upper left was the biggest thickness wise. You can see there were 2 that had grown long thin pieces. The one on the lower left looked something like a jellyfish.

The dark spots were just where they had dried out. They were clean and healthy.

Vinegar - cheesecloth mothers crop Nov. 2018.jpg
Cheesecloth mothers

There a big difference with these mothers. They are all contaminated with mold and flies. Two are very thin, one near translucent. The other 2 did better but none are healthy, like the buttercloth ones.

So in future, I will continue to store my best mothers and use them and buttercloth only to make vinegar.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

thank you for the tutorial!
I have not tried to make vinegar yet. this year we had quite a bit of juice. I am brewing melomels .we had an abundance of honey so it just seemed like the way to go. Vinegar is on my list though

We don't drink alcohol, so brewing isn't on our radar. But I use a lot of vinegar each year.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Making vinegar is on my list of things to do! Looks amazing

And real easy! Just keep things clean, and store in cool place out of sunlight until done.

Oooh, I have never seen this done... I have never tried making vinegar.... and I am not sure I will start either, lol.

Great explanation of your comparisons and the process.

I might never have either but for an enormous bumper crop of apples from our single tree a few years back. The hard part is having a good press available.

Lol..... lots of applesauce, gifting out, and the rest for the horses and wildlife is what I would have done, lol 🤣😉

We did give a LOT of it, huge shopping bags full, did make some apples sauce, no horses or pigs that year, so vinegar... and in the end we had a neighbor with pigs come a fill his pickup with what was left! One tree...

What is buttercloth? I have just cracked last year's pear vinegar and it is beautiful!

It is a much more closely woven muslin type material. It will catch all the solids if you are making cheese. And for vinegar, the fruit flies can't get through it.

I used to double fold my cheesecloth... that wpuld probably work?

Posted using Partiko Android

Nope, the cheesecloth I used in the experiment was doubled. They went right through. And no matter how many thicknesses you make for cheese, you lose a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25