What I Found Yesterday June 7, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

South Herb - peonies open crop June 2019.jpg

The peonies did explode in the South Herb garden yesterday. They may not be exception in size or color, but the fact that I got any at all sure is!

Oriole nest in white oak crop June 2019.jpg

The other bit of interest is there’s an oriole pair building a nest in our signature oak tree. It’s in a position that we can see them go in and out. My husband has spent a good amount of time watching them.

East Shed - peony bud crop June 2019.jpg

The peony in the East Shed garden has a single sad looking bud. I’m not sure if it will open or not…

I recently got a catalog from John Scheeper Bulbs and they had a section on peonies. It had a pretty concise but complete bit about growing them and mentioned full sun for lots of flowers. Hmmmmm, always seen part shade as ok in a description in other places in the past and it seems the East Shed peony is part shade. When I got the peony along the fence the only spot I had for it was under the forsythia…

Looks like I will need to move them to full sun, once construction is done. I’ll have a lot more full sun places.

Big garden - comfrey1 crop June 2019.jpg

The comfrey in the Big garden is doing well. I need to harvest more of it.

Big garden - echinacea transplants crop June 2019.jpg

The Echinacea transplants in the big garden are doing pretty well.

Big garden - plantain and yarrow transplants crop June 2019.jpg

The plantain and yarrow transplants are doing very well.

Big garden - Walla onions crop June 2019.jpg

Moving along the garden, the Walla Walla sweet onions are doing beautifully. The Ailsa Craigs are a good deal behind them, but then, they were very tiny when planted.

Big garden - garlic crop June 2019.jpg

The German Extra Hardy garlic is doing well; there should be scapes in the next couple weeks.

Rugosa roses crop June 2019.jpg

The rugosa rose has started to bloom and when I get back from my visit to Connecticut, I need to start dehydrating them.

That’s all I have planted this year in the veg gardens.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

So beautiful @goldenoakfarms, I could spend all day asking you questions and wandering your gardens. One day!! I don't know a lot about peonies but we have a beautiful plant that was here when we moved in. It is in full sun and seems to really thrive. I don't give it any care or attention. I did read that they secrete this substance to attract ants because the ants protect them from other harmful pests so ...ants on peonies is a good thing.

Plenty of ants on the one by the shed...

In 2 years we will have a spare room or 3 and can have guests stay!!

This post was like walking through your garden ... I could just smell the flowers and feel the warm sunshine ... thank you!

all looks fabulous. And I love that scent of rosa rugosa!

Your garden looks amazing. It shows how much you care for it.

You were featured in week 61 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @deanndmathews. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure and meet new people

Thank you! I do greatly enjoy my gardens, but one can't guess that... :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85