Homesteaders - Living Naturally, Newsletter. 13th March 2019

Welcome back for the second newsletter! The first one was well received and supported. I'd like to extend my thanks to my daughter, @svitlaangel, and to @riverflows for their ideas and designs to come up with a name and logo for the newsletter.
homsteaders living naturally.jpg

Things happening in the community.

@pennsif's Homesteaders and Preppers list is filling out nicely again. Some countries and continents are yet to be represented and some are only sparsely represented, but I hope to see more coming in. The list has relocated to the @altlife account, where you can also find information on the radio show and other alternative lifestyle communities on Steem.

A comment was made on one of the Homesteaders and Preppers list posts, indicating that they weren't sure if they quite reached the criteria for being added to the list. This once again raised the question, for me, if there is such a thing as a criterion. @riverflows has posted a couple of times about whether we make assumptions upon what makes a homesteader. I feel that if the interest is there, then connecting with other like-minded people shouldn't require criteria. What are your thoughts on this, dear reader?

At @naturalmedicine there are some highlights up from the week. The challenge which sparked some of these posts has been extended for the last entries to be in today. So if you're really quick and inspired, you could sneak one in. Otherwise, keep an eye on their page for future challenges.
nature.jfif

Welcoming Newcomers

New to Steem is @herbncrypto who likes to grow and create. I hope we can make him feel welcome.
herb.png

Also, @warfsterveld is a homesteader who joined last month. Some may have already met them, but we all know how slow going things are at the start so I felt them deserving of a highlight.
warf.jfif

Some highlights of the week

@wildhomesteading is capturing my interest again; this time with suggestions for perennial root crops. Set and forget types of plants are definitely right up my alley. Read more about it here.
wild.jfif

@ligayagardener gives a tour of his aquaponics system from start to finish. He talks about how he started small growing from there and mentions the little tweaks made along the way to improve efficiency. Watch the video here.
ligaya.png

You may have read that there's a push to get more accounts to minnow status on the site at the moment. One of the accounts chosen belongs to homesteader @squishysquid. This is her post for that minnow push, in which she tells us about it and includes her helpful video on trimming goat hoofs. Read and watch all about it here.
squish.jfif

I had to share this one from our new arrival @herbncrypto. What amazing skill and creativity in making both his own and his wife's wedding bands! Read how he did it here.
ring.jfif

We can't go without a recipe, so here's something a bit different from @leylar with biscuits which add a new flavour using pumpkin seed flour.
biscuits.jfif

Thank you for stopping by. This week's newsletter was brought to you by @minismallholding.


cooplogoroundmedium.png




A Free Marketplace for Steem


We provide a FREE marketplace for you to transact in STEEM, SBD and USD. Our vendors are committed to sustainability, ethics and quality in their lives and work.

Unlike other marketplaces our vendors are not charged listing fees, subscription fees or transaction fees. This service is 100% free.

Support Your Alternative Economy:

  1. Purchase handmade products and ethical services with STEEM, SBD or USD at homesteaderscoop.com
  2. Join the conversation in our Discord Group
  3. Follow our Curation Trail on SteemAuto to automatically upvote our community
  4. Delegate SP to @homesteaderscoop
  5. Donate to our ongoing Fundition project

Why Delegate to Homesteaders Co-op?

Your delegations will help us grow our community and reward our members for their ethical choices and actions.

In our modern world it is not always easy to choose to live sustainably. To do so often means forgoing income potential and the status quo. Our Steem Power is used to up-vote community contributors and vendors in thanks for their efforts.

10 SP | 25 SP | 50 SP | 75 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 750 SP | 1000 SP


Homesteaders Co-op

Who is Homesteaders Co-op? Read our introduction

Want to Become a Vendor? Learn more and apply here



Logo design by @frejafri - illustrator & artist available for commission for steem/sbd




Donate To Homesteaders Co-op - Help Us Keep Our Marketplace FREE

We have an ongoing crowdfunding project at Fundition. You can donate STEEM, SBD, USD (via PayPal) as well as other popular cryptos such as BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, XMR, BTS, DASH, DOGE, TRON.

Help us keep our marketplace free of commissions and fees. Homesteaders Co-op is 100% free to vendors and customers. Your donations will go a long way to help us maintain our marketplace and keep it free.

Donate to our Project on Fundition


Fundition




We Have Free Instant Steem Accounts to Share!

We have free steem invites for friends and family of steemians that are participating in #homesteading, #gardening, #sustainability, @naturalmedicine, @ghscollective, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @earthtribe and related communities that share common goals. Signing up to steem with our steem invites are instant and free. If we have enough free SP, invites will come along with a small delegation.




A Dollar A Day

@adollaraday - Charitable giving project

Sort:  

Awesome stuff! I learned a lot from the perennial root vegetable post by @wildhomesteading

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

I often enjoy homesteaders post without being a member. My husband has so many interests in the homesteading and natural medicine I believe he is coming back to steemit to hook up with you or people that post this type of information. As for your question

I feel that if the interest is there, then connecting with other like-minded people shouldn't require criteria. What are your thoughts on this, dear reader?

I agree with you. We are all one.

That would be wonderful if we could entice your husband back. The community has taken leaps and bounds since it first started and there is so much going on. It's good to hear you enjoy the homesteading posts too. We're all about sharing after all! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks, for replying to my comment. He does a lot of things and he could share them. Also when I tell him some of the posts I see he is totally interested. :)

Who is your husband? 👀

Posted using Partiko Android

@nowian.man
He never really got going. I was trying to figure it out. However, you guys are his niche even though he is also an artist among other things. He initially joined 2 years ago. His last post was 10 months ago he only did a few posts. Hey thanks for asking @riverflows.. ;)

Wow thank you so much for the mention - I'm honored!

'Tis a great honour indeed. ;D Lol!
I've loved reading your posts and admire your work, so it was a pleasure to feature you. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooohh... some really nice reading here. Love the way your community is expanding & especially the "no need for criteria". I'm a quasi-wanna-be homesteader, sort of, and my work with herbs & indigenous people has a lot of overlap with real-deal living-it-now hoemesteaders. Love that it doesn't matter. Nice job @minismallholding 🌿💚

Posted using Partiko Android

I think everyone has so much to add to this lifestyle. The reason we added natural Living into the title was to try and move away from the assumptions of homesteading being just acreage. The indigenous who have never stopped living in harmony with the land can help us learn so much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for keeping us up with the news around homesteading and natural living and of course the Homesteaders Coop! Wonderful to be introduced to some new members!

You're welcome. I was really pleased to come across some newcomers, because I don't always catch them. I realise it helps to keep your fingers in different pies! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

A FABULOUS newsletter @minismallholding.. this is fast becoming my favourite publication of the week!!! I love what you say... you are dead right, if we are connecting with like minded people, who needs criteria? Touche!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I've really started enjoying putting it together and keeping up things better myself. It's been a good excuse to keep up with the natural community better than I have been.

Posted using Partiko Android

A wonderful 2nd edition @minismallholding!! You are doing such great work honoring these individuals :) I love that you are open to sharing the space with other communities, such as @naturalmedicine in this edition.

I think I mentioned this before, but I really like the simplicity of the format of the newsletter.. it is really easy to digest! Keep up the great work!!

Thank you. I'm glad you're down with the simplicity. I prefer simplistic myself when reading. Too much going on gets confusing for me!

I feel like these communities interlink and cross paths in so many ways that highlighting them seems the right thing. Each of them has their own curation and news specific to their area, but HSCO seems to be a great platform for highlighting all areas.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much for doing this @minismallholding, I missed the homesteader newsletter! I enjoyed reading it and will make sure to visit all the posts that I missed. Awesome stuff! :)

You're welcome. It's been enjoyable to gather all the work together for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally awesome! I love when you add links to homesteaders I haven't met yet.... thank you for a great job 💖

I love when I find homesteaders I have met yet! 😁 Writing this newsletter has got me realising how much I miss on here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82