How One Cat Adopted Our Homestead

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

How one Cat (6).png

So this all started when I heard a meow from my car. I hadn't had any new installations done to my alarm system ( I am sure cats meowing would scare away any hardened criminal trying to rob my vehicle ) so I knew there must be something else making the noise.

I immediately grabbed my keys, unlocked the car, and lifted the hood thinking this cat would be stuck somewhere in the engine but no, it was not. Instead a scared kitten came out from under my wheel well meowing for its' mama. Unfortunately- for her- she was now too old for mama to come back for. She was on her own and unprepared... Not a good place to be.

KIMG3604_04.JPG

Luckily for her she found herself on a property with plenty of acreage and about 5 other feral cats roaming right beside her. With plenty for her to hunt I thought I'd leave her alone and she would soon be on just fine on her own.

KIMG3643.JPG

When I awoke the next morning I put my LO in the playroom, raised the curtains to behold the beautiful sunrise and that kitten meowing on the sill!! We ignored her again thinking that she should be fine on her own.

While doing morning chores the kitten followed us all around the front yard meowing and trying to stay close. She never seemed interested in all the things to eat around her although she was obviously trim. She wouldn't go too far from the vehicle even when exploring - and exploring only seemed to happen while I was outside.

KIMG3604_06.JPG

When I would go outside I would simply call "Here Kitty, Kitty" and boom she'd run out from under my wheel well EVERYTIME. What was I going to do?? I have soo many animals to take care of - my days are full - BUTTTTT she isn't leaving or fending for herself.

KIMG3638.JPG



So that was 2 weeks ago, and I have been feeding her everyday - twice a day. Now she has a friend she shares meals with. How did I become the cat lady?!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-10T02:23:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Haha! It does look like you have a new addition. Maybe after some time she can help with catching mice and hopefully, she will not tell anymore of her friends. Good Job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06