IT'S BEEN A BIZZY WEEK ON HOP FARM. AND THANKFUL WE'RE NOT SICK ANYMORE.

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
It's been a super busy week on the farm. With the delivering our first CSA and the wife and I getting over a cold, I have not made nearly as many posts as I would like. So I got a little catching up to do.

In this post I'll be showing y'all what we delivered in our first week of Spring CSA. Everything is grown, washed and packaged on the homestead. We don't use any chemical pesticides, fungicides or fertilizers. In the picture above we have Swiss Chard.

image
This is spinach. Great eaten raw, mixed in salads, sauteed and even baked in quiches or hearty pies.

image
Two of the root crops that were included where Beets and Carrots.

image
We had a variety of lettuces. There's some Red Leafy Lettuce, Lettuce Bibb and Frizzy Lettuce.

image
Beautiful red Radishes. I love the zing a freshly sliced radish gives to a dish.

image
We also had a lot of herbs in this delivery. The picture above is Fennel.

image
Spearmint. Great herb to add to tea with loads of medical properties.

image
Lemon balm. Another great herb for tea.

image
Rosemary.

image
Oregano.

image
Parsley.

image
We also give the option of adding farm fresh eggs to the order.

image
My wife Erin makes these bags out of the feed we buy for the animals. They worked great to deliver the produce. Each week we'll swap out the empty bag for a full bag. At the end of the season they have an option to give the bag back or purchase it for $5.

We also took 5 Hogs to get processed and I got my haircut for the first time in over 3 years. Those posts will be coming soon!!

####THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!
FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Glad to hear you're feeling better! Your CSA harvest looks great. We had grown mint, lemon balm, and bee balm with the intention of making tea but never got around to drying the leaves and trying it out. Thankfully, they're perennials and we'll have another chance this year without much effort. Wow! three years since your last hair cut? What swayed the decision? -Aimee

Thank you Aimee! We are feeling much better. Made a big batch of Elderberry syrup to help Quicken the healing process.

Have you tried steeping the fresh leaves. It's pretty good and you don't have to wait for them to dry

Oh elderberry syrup, I read so much about it here on Steemit. I will have to make sure we get our hands on some (or make it) so we are prepared.

I haven't tried the fresh leaves. I will give it a go this summer! Thanks. -Aimee

Awesome! I just got a local biz to buy my eggs, I have been giving them away so they dont go bad and those that do went back into the garden. Great idea to use those clear containers!

Thank you @derekfreeman! That's awesome you got a local biz to buy your eggs.

We might in the future. HOP stands for Honest Open Permaculture.😁

Ahh .. thank you for letting me know.

That's impressive harvest my friend :)

Everything looks so fresh....the radishes are an amazing colour. We have a family competition to grow the largest onion. You can read all about it http://bit.ly/2KMNlNv

Wow! Everything looks so good and fresh!! Good that you're all well again :)
Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11