Why The Right Equipment Can Matter

in #homesteading5 years ago

image
For about the past week and a half to two weeks I've been dealing with Mama pig breaking out of her area in search for greener grasses. The Energizer that's running her electric netting is not pushing out enough electricity to give her the shock she needs to stay back. I bought this Energizer from Tractor Supply and it says it pushes out 1.2 to 1.6 joules. These electric nettings need anywhere from .5 to 1 joule to reach 8000 volts. So you would think this Energizer do fine. But it's not. I've heard from people that the energizers at Tractor Supply don't work as well as the energizers you buy from Premier one. So I order another one from Premier one.

Sort:  

Arrrg! I spend half my time rounding up goats that have figured out how to get around/over their fences! So aggravating. I hope the new energizer works better.

Thank you! So far so good!

I use the solar chargers from Premier 1 for my brush goats. They work really well unless the goats run out of snacks. Then they get creative.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, Premier1 has the best equipment. We've found getting the best the first time saves time and energy, but maybe not money, initially. Our Premier1 netting, which we've never used for pigs, is starting its 12th year.

For pigs we found a VERY hot plain wire fence with a physical barrier behind it works excellently. Once they know the fence, and it is well maintained (husband checks it daily), we take the barrier down and store it for the next year.

Here's a post I did on it:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/prepping-for-piglets

Hope your new charger keeps her in.

Cool. I'll check it out!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I would say the problem is your netting more then the energizer. I use a 12 volt solar charger for my hog pens but they are 12 g high tensile and I also run hot and ground lines. Sandy soil makes only hot lines work crappy here so I run ground line also and if they hit both it really hurts. I have not even been able to keep chickens in the nets much less goats or hogs because they ground out to easy and don't transfer enough pop. If you keep having problems grab some poly wire and a few step in poles and run a couple hot and ground lines. You can probably do it for under $100 using the same charger if you have no other option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10