Day 779 (Daily Post)

in #homesteading5 years ago

Day 779. Ah...well I wrote a really good post about blockchain cellphones and decentralized internet but I hit the wrong button and it poofed. Anyway with lots of overcast skies and intermittent rain today I stayed cooped up doing research into various ways of optimizing and perhaps getting better performance from my cellular data connection. I don't think that I can really do much to improve my scenario other than the things that I am already doing. I was thinking about the whole 'decentralized web' thing and although there is a lot of really nice things about it there is still the problem of actual internet service....in other words unless a decentralized web can offer free cellular/non-cellular connectivity then what is the point because it is still relying on service providers to facilitate an actual internet connection. So until truly decentralized data connectivity can be established I think I will just idly watch how the decentralized web evolves and not get my hopes up too high. All that jazz aside I got to looking at the weather today and it looks like I am basically not going to get any substantial sun until the twenty-first of the month so basically I will have to make the best of things until then in regards to electricity. It is not like my life depends on having the stuff or not but it definitely helps. Sometimes I joke to myself that if someone could just mail me (or deliver psychically) some electricity then whoa would life be good. All daydreaming/joking aside....send me electricity damn it! That is my humorous way of looking at it but damn it would be nice if it were possible. Well it is time to feed the dogs and get ready for the oncoming night. Yal be well or something.

Note: As some of you know I have been making these 'Daily Post' on another platform ever since I began my stay at this old farm seven hundred and seventy-nine days ago. Ever since I began using Steemit I have considered posting them here as well but have been hesitant to do so because the content of them varies and thus it is difficult to tag as 'one thing or another' and they do not always directly relate to homesteading, off grid living or whatever. I also type them out in a notepad App on an Android phone and post them as a 'wall of text' instead of breaking them into paragraphs because the platform that I copy and paste them to formats them into a 'wall of text' even if I break them into paragraphs. I am not going to correctly format them and have grown to enjoy their rambling nature. So this is sort of a test and I appreciate any feedback that folks may have.

Sort:  

Hey @jacobpeacock
I'm new to steemit and found your post while searching for people to follow. My wife and I were in the same situation with solar and no sun. I found a simple solution. I built a gas powered battery charger from a used truck alternator and a 5 horse preditor engine from harbour freight. Works like a champ to supplement the lack of sun. I just signed up today and haven't written any articles yet. Maybe I should start with "how to build a gas powered battery charger"

Hi @offgridmaker. Welcome to Steemit! I have definitely looked at building a gas based battery charger but utilizing a 12 or 24 volt DC generator instead of an alternator. As tempting as it is it would contradict my resolution to only invest in electricity generation methods that do not rely on fossil fuels. Last winter I did use a small gas generator a good bit but it eventually went haywire and fried some of my gear. After that I tallied up how much I had spent on fuel and oil from it and realized that I could have afforded a small hydro-electric rig, some more solar panels or larger deep cycle batteries. I have been very tempted numerous times to absolve my resolution to not invest anymore in fossil fuel powered electricity generation (and at some point I still might do it just so I can run certain power tools) but so far I am holding firm and although it means going without electricity occasionally the truth is that having or not having the stuff really is not all that vital to my day to day existence. It is all just my personal preference there and not something that I think is suitable for everyone but that sort of 'freedom' from fossil fuels for electricity sure is a good feeling.

A few folks on here that you may enjoy connecting with are @makinstuff and @jackbub, Cheers and have a great day/night.

It is interesting how our brains work. Before I made the battery charger we just went without certain things when the batteries were too low, but no we seem to get close to a state of panic when we get too low on our gas supply.

I think it's great that you're standing firm on you're convictions. Good luck

Hello @jacobpeacock, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88