Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 30 Part 4

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 30 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-six days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show how I removed the chimney from the shack.

I show my progress on adding more pavers (flat rocks) to the walkway beside the shack.

I show the progress that I made on the 'fire cave'.

I show where I used some of the old cob to fill in the mud puddle on top of the bridge in the driveway.

I show where I add some stones to the steps that I cut into the slope beside the 'fire cave'.

I show a piece of what I think is 'pitch or tar' but later I learned that it is creosote.

I talk some about re-using resources and re-purposing them.

I talk some about salt and my preferences of the type of salt that I like to keep a supply of.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72