Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 14 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


This is a video from Day 14 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-one days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show the work that was done the previous day with the tractor to help shed the water away from the building and to create some more usable flat ground on the side of the shack. I explain where the berm will shed the water and how behind the shack there is a small wetland area that will help filter the water. I also show some of the black locust 'parts' that we retrieved the day before along with the firewood.

I talk about how I start the fire early in the day to help dry the ground out some and also build the coal bank up because it is already cold outside and going to be much colder that night.

I talk about harvesting some firewood from a dead hemlock tree and give some warnings about the dangers of those trees when they are dead.

I talk about perhaps eventually making a large passive heater for the rear room of the shack and also perhaps making that room into a wood kiln but I never do it because I eventually move out of that area entirely.

I also show the drain that I created that leads from the pit inside the shack to the outside and explain how it is functioning and where the water is going after it evacuates the drain.

I talk about harvesting water off the roof of the shack and explain a few options for doing that.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Other Videos:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 1
Day One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 2 Part 1
Day Two Part Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 1
Day Three Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 2
Day Three Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 3
Day Three Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 4
Day Three Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 4 Part 1
Day Four Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 5 Part 1
Day Five Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 5 Part 2
Day Five Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 6 Part 1
Day Six Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 6 Part 2
Day Six Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 1
Day Seven Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 2
Day Seven Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 3
Day Seven Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 1
Day Eight Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 2
Day Eight Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 3
Day Eight Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 1
Day Nine Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 2
Day Nine Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 3
Day Nine Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 4
Day Nine Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 5
Day Nine Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 6
Day Nine Part Six:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 1
Day Ten Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 2
Day Ten Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 3
Day Ten Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 4
Day Ten Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 5
Day Ten Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 1
Day Eleven Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 2
Day Eleven Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 3
Day Eleven Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 4
Day Eleven Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 1
Day Twelve Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 2
Day Twelve Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 3
Day Twelve Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 13 Part 1
Day Thirteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 13 Part 2
Day Thirteen Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 14 Part 1
Day Fourteen Part One:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74