Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 15 Part 2

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


This is a video from Day 15 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-two days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

This is another fireside video. In this video I talk about needing to relax because I am feeling kind of 'moody' and 'edgy'. I talk about something that keeps coming close to where I am every night in the woods and how I put the dogs up early because I don't want them chasing whatever it is and causing me to call them back. I go into some detail about the history of my dogs and how they are work dogs but they also need to have a break so they are not over-working themselves especially during the cold and damp night. I mention the value of having dogs in a situation where I am out in the woods alone with a bunch of gear especially if there is the potential of humans being around. I emphatically stress that my dogs are not 'house dogs' and that all they have ever really known is the wilderness. I talk about the wisdom of having some method of protection around to healthily dissuade predators especially the two legged variety.

I talk about my work on the old chimney and how I don't really want to remove all of it because if I do remove it I don't have materials to cover the hole created by it's absence.

I also recap some of the clean up work I did on the site earlier that day which was mostly cleaning up a lot of the junk in the side yard of the shack.

I talk about being fortunate that I had two weeks of mostly good weather to get setup before the cold weather moved in.

I explain some about why I am having the fire at night and how I am looking forward to not needing to build it each night.

I kind of rant a little about my frustraion with using the phone and needing to keep it charged constantly.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Other Videos:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 1
Day One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 2 Part 1
Day Two Part Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 1
Day Three Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 2
Day Three Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 3
Day Three Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 4
Day Three Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 4 Part 1
Day Four Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 5 Part 1
Day Five Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 5 Part 2
Day Five Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 6 Part 1
Day Six Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 6 Part 2
Day Six Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 1
Day Seven Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 2
Day Seven Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 3
Day Seven Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 1
Day Eight Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 2
Day Eight Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 3
Day Eight Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 1
Day Nine Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 2
Day Nine Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 3
Day Nine Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 4
Day Nine Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 5
Day Nine Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 6
Day Nine Part Six:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 1
Day Ten Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 2
Day Ten Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 3
Day Ten Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 4
Day Ten Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 5
Day Ten Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 1
Day Eleven Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 2
Day Eleven Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 3
Day Eleven Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 4
Day Eleven Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 1
Day Twelve Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 2
Day Twelve Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 3
Day Twelve Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 13 Part 1
Day Thirteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 13 Part 2
Day Thirteen Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 14 Part 1
Day Fourteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 14 Part 2
Day Fourteen Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 15 Part 1
Day Fifteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 15 Part 2
Day Fifteen Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 18 Part 1
Day Eightteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 18 Part 2
Day Eightteen Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 18 Part 3
Day Eightteen Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 19 Part 1
Day Nineteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 20 Part 1
Day Twenty Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 20 Part 2
Day Twenty Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 21 Part 1
Day Twenty-One Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 21 Part 2
Day Twenty-One Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 21 Part 3
Day Twenty-One Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 21 Part 4
Day Twenty-One Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 21 Part 5
Day Twenty-One Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 22 Part 1
Day Twenty-Two Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 22 Part 2
Day Twenty-Two Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 23 Part 1
Day Twenty-Three Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 23 Part 2
Day Twenty-Three Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 24 Part 1
Day Twenty-Four Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 24 Part 2
Day Twenty-Four Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 24 Part 3
Day Twenty-Four Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 25 Part 1
Day Twenty-Five Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 25 Part 2
Day Twenty-Five Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 25 Part 3
Day Twenty-Five Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 26 Part 1
Day Twenty-Six Part One:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10