Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 214 Part 1

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

This is a video from Day 214 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and eighty-six days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods.

'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

Jacob Goes Off Grid 214 Part 1-GD.png

In this video I am in the new homestead area and burning one of the large brush piles that I previously created there.

I explain about lighting the brush pile on the side that the wind would help me be able to control the fire and not just make it burn really fast and be unmanageable.

I talk about creating a 'hot spot' in the fire where I can slowly rake the damp and green brush into to burn.

I talk about not making a fire too big to put out and I show what tools and precautions that I take when working with fire.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can download it directly by using the down arrow button in the top right corner.

You can listen to a podcast version of this video by clicking the speaker icon.

50-50-speaker-icon.png

Donate via Bitcoin here: 35qH7GLD6wRn1GXA9uMi3viqZGbjHg5uSm

Sort:  

very good pointers for managing a fire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23