Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 27 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 27 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-four days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show the explosive results of putting too much Turkish coffee in my stove-top espresso maker and the mess it made.

I show a large pile of old lumber and building materials that I want to clean up. I talk about burning off the trash material and re-stacking the good material.

I talk about making a flower box (garden box) for some raspberry plants that I find.

I show a big multiflora bush that I need to remove.

I show a large spring beside the road but later I determine not to use it because someone (many someones from what I could tell) had setup a shooting range with the targets directly above the spring head so I decide that unless I want lead poisoning I should not use it.

The mushrooms that I show turn out to be Brick Caps (also called Brick Tops) and are edible but I don't experiment by eating them.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97