Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 92 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 92 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and fourteen days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about having a visitor and going hiking with them. I talk about learning a few new plants during the hike. I show some empty cat litter containers that my visitor donated along with some flower pots.

I explain about using an old metal framed chair and piece of roofing metal during the process of filling flower pots with soil to collect the soil that misses the pots as I shovel it into them.

I talk about how many pots that I have filled with soil and show where I have them covered with a tarp near where I have the 'potting soil'. I talk about my goal being to plant one thousand black locust trees.

I show the area where I got the soil for potting with up on the hill and explain the things that I have done with it to prepare it for a compost site.
I talk about eventually adding chicken wire to it but I never do. I also talk about eventually adding irrigation tubing to it to use the compost to heat water. I talk about being able to gravity feed the water to the compost from the IBC (intermediate bulk container) at the old chicken coop.

I talk some about my mental attitude and about my effort to crowd fund some of the resources that I need to accomplish the things that I am trying to do.

I talk about black locust trees and some of the reasons why I want to grow them and some of the benefits of the trees themselves.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97