Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 26 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 26 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-four days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I am out walking around looking for potential cabin sites. I am also looking around for anything useful in the high vegetation or junk that needs to be removed. I am also looking around for any useful plants that I might need to transplant before the area gets mowed.

On this day I fabricate a cable gate and attach a 'No Trespassing' sign to it because ever since Day 3 (or Day 4) local folks keep showing up at all times uninvited 'acting like they own the place' so I decide that I have finally had enough of it and put up the gate and sign.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66