Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 15 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


This is a video from Day 15 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-two days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show a twelve volt battery that I removed from an un-interruptible power supply. I show my twelve volt to twenty-four volt input to USB charger again and this time I explain how I have bypassed the fuse in the USB charger with a piece of wire.

I show the door that I built on the mini-shelter the day before. I also show the door stop that I made with two inch by two inch lumber. I also show the latching system that I rig for the door with an old rusty nail and a small metal bracket. I also show how I add a vertical board to the door to help seal the gap when the door is closed. I also explain the steps I took to make the door strong.

I also explain the steps that I took to seal off the pit of cold water in the corner of the room and how having the open pit had previously been keeping the room humid and cold.

I talk briefly about how bitter cold it was outside and how it was warm inside the mini-shelter. I show where I used the empty insulation bags that I had left from my mini-shelter project to seal some of the gaps in the room where the tarp does not quite cover the places where the walls meet the ceiling.

I also talk about the dogs and how it is much easier to start with a kennel when introducing them to a new site.

I express how thankful I am to have had nearly two weeks of nice weather to do all the things that I did before the cold weather moved in.

I talk about my hands being injured and 'taking a beating' over the previous few weeks and how the cumulative effects of all the injuries is uncomfortable. I also talk about foot care and some of the things that I do to keep them in good condition. I also talk about some of the clothing layers that I use to cope with the cold.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Other Videos:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 1
Day One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 2 Part 1
Day Two Part Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 1
Day Three Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 2
Day Three Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 3
Day Three Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 3 Part 4
Day Three Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 4 Part 1
Day Four Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 5 Part 1
Day Five Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 5 Part 2
Day Five Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 6 Part 1
Day Six Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 6 Part 2
Day Six Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 1
Day Seven Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 2
Day Seven Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 7 Part 3
Day Seven Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 1
Day Eight Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 2
Day Eight Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 8 Part 3
Day Eight Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 1
Day Nine Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 2
Day Nine Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 3
Day Nine Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 4
Day Nine Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 5
Day Nine Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 9 Part 6
Day Nine Part Six:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 1
Day Ten Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 2
Day Ten Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 3
Day Ten Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 4
Day Ten Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 10 Part 5
Day Ten Part Five:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 1
Day Eleven Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 2
Day Eleven Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 3
Day Eleven Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 11 Part 4
Day Eleven Part Four:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 1
Day Twelve Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 2
Day Twelve Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 12 Part 3
Day Twelve Part Three:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 13 Part 1
Day Thirteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 13 Part 2
Day Thirteen Part Two:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 14 Part 1
Day Fourteen Part One:

Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 14 Part 2
Day Fourteen Part Two:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82