Major Wind Storm Weekend and Sunday's Calm

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Hey ya'll! Crazy weather here! A while back I made a post about a storm we were having and how worried I was about the greenhouse and the gusts of 60km. Friday night put that to shame!

We have power now, but still no internet. We lost power at 9pm of Friday night, regained it at 2pm the next day but then was on for 3, off for 3 hours since until Sunday afternoon. We had a freak storm with winds of 100km+ steadily for hours! It was actually terrifying. I was home alone with my 10 year old daughter for the beginning of it and was not prepared, it happened so quickly.

Our birdhouse came down, but didn't fly off and hit anything. The birdhouse actually crushed the bird feeder
20180505_094726.jpg

The canoe was over by the back building. It travelled far, missing the greenhouse, house, chicken coop the truck along it's travels haha!

It ended up here by the rhubarb patch
20180506_120312.jpg

The greenhouse was the scariest by far. If the inner trellis wasn't there it would be gone. The logs I use to keep the sides down literally flew off. When my son and husband got home at 11pm (from helping secure fencing at another's home) they started running heavy logs from the wood pile and shovelling dirt onto the sides to weigh them down.

It worked! This was the following morning
20180505_094744.jpg

20180505_095155.jpg

20180505_095159.jpg

I am kicking myself for being so lax. I have waterbags specifically for this kind of situation...but I could not find them. I need to organize myself. Lesson learned for sure.

It sparked a 3 hour clean up, the back looks better than before now so that is cool. The bee hives were untouched over in our stand of trees. It seems like it is the perfect place for them. I cannot wait to add more.

Things looking much better now. Hard to believe what it was like just 12 hours ago
20180505_130134.jpg

20180505_130128.jpg

We jumped on the 4 wheeler to check the back but there are too many trees down. We need to go back with the chainsaw. My favourite giant tree is totally broken, we will have to come back to cut her down. I will use her wood to fuel our maple syrup boil next year. Poor girl.

My giant beauty 2 months ago
Screenshot_20180508-170551.jpg

Her now😔
20180505_130234.jpg

20180505_130238.jpg

20180505_131427.jpg

Lots of the bush looking like this now
20180505_131504.jpg

I tried to post this on Sunday as well as yesterday, it seems like the internet is working for longer bouts now. We got a lot done in the past 2 days following the storm, I can't wait to show you in my next post!

Cool duck just hanging out in the ditch out front of my house. He just showed up after the storm!
20180505_083559.jpg

I hope you are all having a wonderful day!

Thank you for reading! Take care of you and yours ❤

Sort:  

So many reactions. Oh, my goodness! Oh, yay the flying canoe didn't break anything! (that's amazing) Oh, the poor tree! :( That would be scary to go through without any warning. So were the men out there shoring up the greenhouse in that terrible wind?! Glad they stayed safe!!

Right? The flying canoe was so stressfull and there was literally nothing we could do about it! Yes, we were all out in the middle of the storm...it is strange weather for here.
I know:( the tree is the worst

Glad you and your family is safe

I'm so glad you guys stayed safe, and the bees too.

The big tree though ... :'( :'( what a terrible feeling looking at that :'( :'(

The tree is the worst.....I really will miss her <3

Wow!! I'm glad the damage wasn't worse, but sorry about your tree friend. :(

Me too. Could have been way worse :(

It is good you are all ok. That was one strong wind.

That is too bad about your tree. It is a good idea to use her for boiling maple syrup next year.

Thank you @carey-page <3 it was strong wind for sure...has never blown that hard in my memory.

Yes, I do not want her to go to waste. There is going to be a big hole there now:(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79