Winter update on our greenhouse sooner than expected!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I posted yesterday about our greenhouse build this past spring.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@karenfoster/how-we-built-our-greenhouse-on-a-budget

At the end, I mentioned that I might do a winter update on how it is surviving the elements. It snowed again last night, and upon inspection this morning, I decided to take action right away! So here it is......winter update #1!

I decided that this is as much build up as I felt comfortable with....makes me nervous lol.
20171218_092207.jpg

20171218_094712.jpg

the inside....after my son and I clear the snow, the chickens will be allowed in here to hang out
20171218_094819.jpg

you can see the trellis adds support to the higest point of the greenhouse
20171218_092327.jpg

I need to figure out a better tool than this broom....but it worked really well today. We just kept rocking the plastic with some pressure on the broom head until snow began braking off in mini sheets.
20171218_092525.jpg

its working!
20171218_092652.jpg

woah. outside check reveals how thick the snow is!
20171218_092727.jpg

After a little while and very sore arms, we figured out if two people did opposite panels at each end at the same time, the rythm broke up the snow on the whole surface....
20171218_093734.jpg

20171218_093747.jpg

Finished attempt at snow removal. Really cold, so back inside but the perimeter of the greenhouse should be shovelled as well I think so it will be back out this afternoon. I think it will be pretty easy.
20171218_100219.jpg

I am also going to brainstorm and see if I can come up with something better than the broom. The plastic is so thick, I am really impressed with how it is holding up so far but I do not want to risk poking a hole through it. Any ideas, let me know!

Thank you for reading! Take care of you and yours❤

Sort:  

what a great idea my friend!

I love doing things like this :)

Great job

Looks great! I love all the pics! The broom works just as well as any method.

Thanks! It looks cool inside with all the snow:) I think the broom will have to do. I am drawing a blank as to what else to use!

I wouldn't worry, it looks like you have the roof well supported in there. They can handle quite a bit of weight. But it's always better safe than sorry. Your greenhouse looks great!

They can handle quite a bit? That is good to hear! :):):) we did add some extra stuff for support, I just have no idea how much snow we will get!

That looks like an awesome project. You look like you are on a good path and will succeed. Have you considered spreading some sulfur on the soil to bring the PH back towards neutral?
Keep up the good work

Thank you for the kind words. I will look into sulfer for treating soil, I am not certain if the PH is off but will research your advise! <3

WOW! Lot of work but so worth it.
Glad you had the thicker gauged plastic. I've always worried about that happening to my little greenhouse and causing serious damage.

I am really glad we got the thicker stuff too. I hope it does as well with freezing rain!

Chickens will have your greenhouse cleaned out and ready to plant in no time. 🐓🐓

Yes! They are great for that! Little scavangers:)

If you could only get then to remove the snow for you. Lol.🐓🐓

That would be brilliant!

Would a long-handled wide squeegee work from the outside?

Oh my gosh it is worth a try! I think i have a big one in the barn....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74