Its Strawberry Pickin’ Time

As most of you know, homesteading can be a full-time job. There is always something that needs fixed/worked on or something that needs done. Well, this time of year, it is when we start to get strawberries from our little 15’x15’ patch. A few weeks back, I made a post about all of the blooms on the plants and now the time has come to begin picking.

We have been way behind on rain this year, so we thought that maybe we would get a couple of small pickings to eat or, if we were lucky, freeze a bag. Well to our surprise, they have produced many more strawberries than we even thought and now we are up to our necks in the little red gems. Here are just a small number of some of them.

20180612_193108.jpg

(Sorry about the blurry picture, I was using my phone instead of the camera)

Now that we are starting to amass a good quantity of strawberries, we are looking forward what we are going to do next. We have plans to eat as many as possible, freeze several bags, and make one of my favorite things, strawberry jam. So, I am looking forward to that very, very soon.

Thanks for reading and stopping by!

Sort:  

Man you're welcome to as much of my rain as you want.

You must be getting a lot. If you have any to spare you could send it my way as well!

It has rained almost every day for a month, adding up to over 12 inches. My driveway is a creek, my garden is a swamp, my septic system is full..... if i could send it to you, i would!

Oh goodness, too much of anything can be a bad thing! Hope it starts drying out for ya!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Glad your labors bounty was more than you thought!

Strawberries will be ready here in a week or so. We normally pick and freeze 50# a year. I don't do sweeteners so making jelly and jam is out. I am looking forward to our first strawberry shortcake...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00