Muscovy Madness

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

20171001_175639.jpg

Today I invited three breeding Muscovy Ducks to the homestead, Lil Wheezy, Stormy and Eos. After a lot of research, I decided these where the ducks for me. They are my number one pick for livestock on a small urban homestead. Let me tell you why!

20171001_175905.jpg

Noise is a huge concern when you are an urban homesteader. Loud roosters are not ideal with neighbors all around. Muscovy ducks are silent, or very close to it. The males make a soft wheezing noise, and the females a cute chirp that is also very soft. The loudest part about them is their wings when they flap in the bath. They have rich, creamy eggs and are wonderful mothers. It's a win-win whether I eat the eggs or let the hens hatch them. They are very large birds and their meat is delicious. Its different parts have been compared to top sirloin, ham or veal. It is very lean and one of the healthiest meats on the market. The males weigh up to 20 pounds. A single bird can feed a lot of people.

What amazed me when reading about these birds is that they hunt the flies that swarm around their droppings. I was looking forward to seeing if it was true. Today I got to see them in action. They ate every fly that came into their temporary enclosure. Muscovys are amazing foragers and will eat flies, small slugs, snails, worms and even frogs. They caught most of their own food today. I am going to let them roam the garden during the day to rid it of bugs and to let them eat the grass. I am also looking forward to feeding them kitchen scraps.

Interesting fact on Muscovy ducks, they are the only duck in captivity that is not related to a Mallard duck. You can breed other ducks with Muscovys but you will get a sterile duck. The same way a horse and donkey make a mule. Their History is what got my attention.

20171002_124108(0).jpg

Muscovy ducks have been domesticated for centuries, first by the Native Americans. When Columbus arrived in the Bahamas he brought some back to Europe on the ship Santa Maria. They are favored for their distinctive tasting meat, that is reminiscent of roast beef, making it quite popular.

20171002_124128(0).jpg
Stormy bathing in her new home.

Muscovys are easy to breed, multipurpose and very quiet. That makes them the perfect Urban Homestead duck. I am excited to have a great start with good breeding stock, and to see for myself what raising them is like. I already enjoy being around them and hope that taming them goes well.

20171002_124147.jpg

Every plant and animal I add to my homestead brings me one step closer to being independent and free of the system. I am passionate about finding alternative ways to live in this world. To make my own way by my own hands. I want to consciously evolve to be a more intentional human and connected being.

20171002_124151.jpg

Big Love.
Ren

Sort:  

lol

Nyc post please follow me

Your writing adds to my knowledge of ducks, because I have some poultry the house, thanks for the information.

greetings

@najmifajar

Thank you! Have a great day.

Your ducks are ace!!

Thank you, I think they are pretty rad too!

very nice post :)

Thank you for reading my blog! Hope you are having a wonderful day!

I knew a bit about Muscovy ducks already but learned a fair bit from your post. Especially the history of them. Thanks!

Thank you for reading, Muscovy ducks are great.

It's amazing they are silent, forage their own food, mow grass, have great meat, and lay big eggs.

This may be a good step into meat production also. I'm so happy to see you earn a little more freedom every day!

Thank you so much @happymoneyman! With every step I gain more confidence. The are wonderful, useful birds.

I keep contemplating muscovies, but unless I get rid of one of the chicken flocks we don't really have the room for them. Thanks for sharing their history. I didn't know any of that. Meat like beef!

I know! I decided on ducks instead of chickens for the same reason, I have room for one. I will vicariously live through your chicken keeping and you can through my ducks :) Thanks for reading!

I think I will get ducks too.. Either some duck houses or build/buy a chicken tractor!

Muscovy ducks are excellent, and certainly no where near as noisy as some breeds. They are one of my favorites, and the only duck kind that we have at the moment!

Yay for Muscovy's! I am so excited to join you as a Muscovy duck caretaker. Have you had yours for long?

Very beautiful ducks Upvoted & Resteemed
Steem oN ;)

Thank you very much! I am glad you read my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76