Growing green peppers from seed.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I live in western NY and started green peppers in my home.
Because it is cool in my house (between 60 and 65 F) and peppers do better in hotter weather.
I started planting the seeds in January 16th I planted seeds that I saved from last year’s peppers and some I bought last year.
I just spread the seed out.

Spread a little dirt over the seeds and give it some water.

A few weeks later on 2/5/16 I started to see some seeds have started to germinate.

Because it is cool inside the germinating is slow.

By May the peppers were too big for the trays so I had to split them out and put them in a larger container.



The temperature is warmer so grow much faster and ready to plant outside.



I add a little organic fertilizer



By June 27th the plants were getting much bigger and time to sprinkle some water with Epson salt.


By July 21st I could start picking fresh green peppers.



Hope you enjoyed how I grow green peppers here in western New York State.




_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for taking the time to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for doing that.

Read more of my stuff @lostmymarbles

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

It is a challenge to grow tropical plants in our climate. But as you demonstrate, it can be done. Nice looking post. @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lostmymarbles to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @lostmymarbles, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2781 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $285.00. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks for the info I will check it out.

I was surprised as I didn't knew that this is also called pepper !

For me pepper and pepper plant was only what is shown below until now :)

IMG_2993_500.jpg

I think that is Black pepper also called peppercorn that grows on a vine. thanks for a photo of that.

I see ... since Pepper is common, ie black pepper, for me anything thats "pepper" was something growing on the vine.

Learned something new today ... thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70