Homemade Homestead Ice Cream

in #homesteading6 years ago

Inspired by @corrielaine, a fellow SteemitMama's Guilt-free ice cream, I made my own ice cream version :)

smoothiecream.png

I know, I didn't have any pictures of how I made it because I was in a hurry to get'er done. And as usual, there's only the almost-gone ice cream to show for.

We were out of frozen tropical fruit medley so I made use of what we had on hand.

Organic Ingredients:
frozen strawberries chunks
frozen pineapple chunks
frozen banana chunks or one really ripe banana
Protein whey powder
Grassfed milk
Vanilla extract

We have a Nutri-Ninja for making smoothies. All I did was

  1. add all fruit ingredients in a 32-oz cup,
  2. pour milk about 1/4 full,
  3. add 1 heaping scoop of protein whey
  4. add 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  5. Blend away! You might need to use the pulse feature first then blend until smooth
  6. Freeze

It turned out really good that all the @futurefarmers requested for mama to make a bigger batch next day. And so I did and it's gone again.

Still would like to make @corrielaine's version when I get around to following it to the T.

Join Us!
20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

What is the origin of this dish? It looks tasy AF. I'd love to wash it down with a Amber Ale. I think the two who complement each other very nicely.

This sounds scrummy. Do you need the protein powder? We can't get it very easily xx

😎You don't need the protein powder so you can make it without that. I just added it so they can have some sort of protein.

Fabulous! Thanks X

Only just seen this. YUM @lovenfreedom My husband will be nagging me come summer

😎It's a treat, healthy treat at that. I'm sure your hubby will enjoy it and so will one of the triplets. Hmm the carob might be a great addition for that for the sweet factor!

Carob is a good idea! Something different

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87