Homesteading For A Living - Simple Living is My Goal

in #homesteading6 years ago


lemming.png
Urban Dictionary and Pixabay

Training The Lemming

Back when I was in IT, I went to one of those trainings just for the sake of training.

Yeah, we were sent to be trained about project management, workplace presentation, leadership and such.

Most went for free food and the opportunity to go home early. But the main reason was the department paid for it so we must go.

Everyone grumbled that we should be at the office fighting fires. If we're "training" there's going to be firetrucks load of fire to fight by the time we're back.

There really wasn't anything new that was discussed. But if I look at the positive side, I met the other IT folks I rarely work with and broadened my so called network.

Now why am I talking about this?

Because most of the people who go to work are trained to work for the corporate team. To be a corporate team leader, corporate team player, corporate team member. Nowhere does it promote strengthening family ties and values. Living sustainably, advocating for freedom. If they did, they won't have any employees.

The tasks assigned to you are overwhelming.

  1. I must take overtime
  2. I must do this by the end of the day
  3. I must give an update to my boss
  4. I must talk to the guy from this and that department.
  5. Oh no, I have to get something for my wife/husband
  6. Oh no, it's late I'm still off by X amount of dollars


https://unsplash.com/photos/PLeo6LGc3AI

Lemming-mergency

The constant barrage of issues at work follows you at home and it's not a healthy thing for you and your family.

My husband and I came to the realization that the company I'm working for doesn't care about my family. They only care about what I can do for the company.

Sure they give me a salary. But for the company, the focus is revenue and profit. Any business' focus is revenue and profit.

I have yet to find a company that really value their employees by the way they're treated and compensated.

But I don't have to find that since the goal now is our homestead, solar power, water well, growing food permaculture style and living simply and sustainably. If I do find a company that values their people, it's a miracle, I'll work remotely and be homesteading.

If you work remotely, let me know will you? And if you're homesteading full time, let me know too. I'd love to drool over the possibilities of our homestead taking off.

Join Us On Discord.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

My husband is a software developer. We relate to all you're saying.

Have you explored working part time?

We're in Kentucky and there are amazing opportunities to create small batch food stuffs. Start exploring business opportunities promoted by your ag department. Also look to see if your state has small business incubators and helps.

Also, keep an eye out and an ear to the ground around hemp growing opportunities. It is rapidly turning into big business in Kentucky.

Thanks for the comment. It seems like I'm the only one feeling like that at work and everyone's zombified with their managers and supervisors pushing on the other IT folks I know. It's horrible.

I haven't explored working part time. It would be nice to get one that I can work remotely.

I'll check out those opportunities close here. And also keep a close eye on Kentucky news.

Most people think their jobs are their identity. One of the first questions I had to adjust to when I quit work altogether was, "What do you do." I didn't really have ideas I wanted to talk about. I started to saying, "I stay home and find ways to get into trouble." For some reason they were more than willing to laugh at the joke and move on to talking about themselves. But yeah. It's a huge brain shift to not express your importance in the world by your job title. The fact that a job or career is one's identity, is one of the biggest reasons people don't understand that the job is really their slavery.

Definitely watch the Kentucky ag dept.

As to moving part time with the homestead, we met a lady a few years back raising sheep in Kentucky. She said that the only way she was able to actually raise sheep was by working part time. When she was working full time she couldn't move the herd forward. At that point, she was moving closer and closer to going to the sheep raise'n full time.

I'm thinking that you can probably think up several one day community education classes that are like $5 to $10 ea plus supplies for a basic information course on ... child safety on the internet ... or something. Start asking all the people around you, "what is your biggest challenge with computers, tablets and cell phones?" Then just let them talk. You'll have plenty of ideas for the classes and or services in a very short time. Also, the classes should probably springboard you into other opportunities. Probably ;-)

PS you could also ask people what they know about buying from local farms and then start trying to get people on the same page by building a web site for your community that is a pivot point. But save yourself anguish and keep comments closed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09