Sourdough Muffin - It's Yummy, Not Sour

in #homesteading6 years ago


sdoughmuffin03.png

If you have been discarding your starter in your compost and thought about it being such a waste... you're right

It is a waste and now you can use it for your sourdough muffins.

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 3/4 c sugar 1 c if you want sweeter

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 medium-sized egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 c oil
  • 1 c starter I usually use the discarded starter before feeding my starter the 2nd time

Fruit Ingredient

  • 1 c pureed banana OR
  • 1 c blueberries
    You can use any on this but I only used bananas and blueberries so far. If you want to experiment on other fruits, hurray! Use what you have handy :)

Let's bake it!

  1. Preheat oven at 425F
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients
  3. In a separate bowl, mix all the wet ingredients.
  4. Puree the banana and add to wet ingredients. If you want blobby blueberries, just mix the berries in with the wet ingredients.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Don't overmix.
  6. Fill muffin cups half full or 3/4 full.
  7. Bake for 17 to 18 mins or when it passes the toothpick test.



Here it is in the oven half way the set timer. I'm drooling.

sdoughmuffin01.png



Here it is in the oven almost done! I'm drooling some more.

sdoughmuffin02.png



Here it is on my cooling rack courtesy of hubby! Mmmm do you think I waited for it to cool down?

sdoughmuffin04.png



Here it is warm and halfway gone! Butter and drizzled honey for extra yumminess, you bet there were no crumbs.

sdoughmuffin05.png

Thanks for stopping by!

20180516_002249_0001.png



Thanks @eco-alex for this logo!

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

This really makes me miss having all that extra sourdough starter. When I had my daughter a couple years ago I let my sourdough go. Need to get started again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29