When You Buy Eggs From the Grocery Store...These Are The Chickens Who Are Laying Them

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-11-28 at 10.26.37 AM.png

Meet some of my gals. This is the first day they ever lived free. Felt wind. Sun. Straw on their feet. They lived their lives in a small cage, with 6 hens in each cage. When they are 18 months old they are considered "spent" and the factory farms get rid of them for 1$ a piece.

Screen Shot 2018-11-28 at 10.27.05 AM.png

Now I'm sure y'all have seen what a chicken is supposed to look like. Does this even remotely resemble the chickens you see? Or the cartoon one they put on the egg cartons in the store?!

Their combs were limp and very pale. Their toenails were 2 inches long and curled over from never being able to scratch. That's how chickens keep their nails trim. Oh and they were also covered in faecal matter from all being piled up on top of each other in the cages they "Live" in at the factory. Their shit was a runny yellow liquid when they first came here as well. After eating proper food, like grass, bugs, scratch etc, their stool turned into normal chicken shit.

Here is the Moment they Arrived at My Homestead

If you would like to learn more about my experience rehabilitating factory farm chickens, I wrote about it in great detail in the blog Last Year We Rescued Hens From A Factory Farm ~ See How They Are Doing Now!


Photo of Fanny all healed up!

Sort:  

The Factory Farming has to stop. It produces far inferior product, it's cruel, it's unhealthy for everyone involved from the animals and the "farmer" to the consumer, and its bad for the environment. The antibiotics that are required just to farm like that are causing all sorts of problems to the animals and humans as well as making the antibiotics themselves usless.

We have often been amazed at how far removed from the production of our food we were and still are.

I've been a homesteader for 10 years now. I've had a garden for 10 years, chickens 8, ducks 7, Goats and Bees for 6.
We can't live live off of what we produce, our plot of land won't support that but we do eat our own eggs, milk, honey and some garden produce.

We have a real hard time with the store version of any of those foods. There is nothing like garden fresh produce or happy chickens well fed (with bugs and worms) free range eggs or actual fresh hormone and antibiotic free milk. REAL HONEY!
Ok I gotta stop now, I'm starting to sound pompous.

Seriously though to anyone wanting to do that homesteading thing, the two most important things we learned.

  1. You can't do it all, you can't do it alone, you have to have community. I have Honey, you fix cars, Mike has hay and so on. If you know what SHTF means, understand that your community is what will save you. Your guns, gold and food may allow you survive but only community will save you. Go meet your neighbors now!!
  2. Gardening is not just putting seeds in dirt. Growing enough food to feed yourself all year long is for most everyone, NOT POSSIBLE! That's why you need a community, I can't grow tomatoes, Scott can't grow anything but tomatoes. If you want to grow your own food someday, start now because it takes skill that you will only learn from doing. 10 years of trying, I still can't grow more than a few dinners and some garden browsing worth of food.

However, I do have extra eggs, milk and HONEY!
Got any tomatoes?

I wish I could give you a 1 million dollar upvote for this comment! <3 <3 Following you now dear!!

Signs I've had on my front door:

13731077_10153624345696791_6454525960351432422_o.jpg

Screen Shot 20181129 at 9.27.27 AM.png

Screen Shot 20181129 at 9.27.11 AM.png

Thank you.
I checked out your page, we have a lot in common.
Followed you back.

I will be seeing you around steem for sure.

I am so glad that I started trying to garden even while in my apartment, because I have learned so much. I have had lots of failures but they all taught me something! In fact right now I have two ginormous tomato plants inside my dining room area (they were on the balcony during the summer), growing tomatoes!
By the time I have a little land and a tiny house, I'll be MUCH better prepared than if I had gotten there with no practice.
And a few chickens is on the wish list. But can't practice with those in my apartment. ;)

oh wow, awesome of you giving such poor creatures a great help!
I had thought of raising chicken in my backyard, haven't taken the initiative yet. Maybe sometime in the future!

They are the easiest animals to every look after, they are better behaved than dogs and cats, and they give us eggs, nuff said!

If you have any questions ever about setting up, just ask. They are relatively simple to keep happy, especially if you live in a warm-ish climate.

thanks for the link. dear! very interesting!
I read a lot about chickens' life in tiny cages without light... terrible feeling..
and how happy they look in your garden;)
those black and red ones are so proud and look like bosses;))

Aw, thank you for reading the link as well beautiful Angel Sister! I know vegans/vegetarians and meat eaters don't agree on much, I wish we could just ALLLLLLL unite against factory farming at Least!

I know vegans/vegetarians and meat eaters don't agree on much, I wish we could just ALLLLLLL unite against factory farming at Least!

As an aspiring vegan it brought me to tears for the kindness you have given those poor tortured creatures. They have been blessed by your kindness. No one could ever fault you for this Lyndsay! ✌💛

Wonderful!

I visited an egg farm this summer and was awestruck. Those farmers take such good care of their chickens and the process and production were awesome.

In a related note, my little one asked me if I knew how to build a chicken coop yesterday. I think this is her creative way of warming me up to getting some chickens of our own. That will be a long discussion that hopefully doesn't end til she has her own place.

Eggs are so important to veggies like her and so is learning to produce your own food.

Omg get her a henny for crying out loud! heheee...

@lyndsaybowes, thank you! That is a great post! I am so happy when I read your post. You are a great person! I sometimes save wild pigeons and send them to a Wild Bird Rehabilitation center. I had 2 such videos on DTube, but they couldn't open at the moment.
Thank you , Lyndsay! Have a great day!

P.s. that's why we need blockchain! We have to know where we buy eggs from! From example, it will be pleasure for me to buy eggs from the Lyndsay's chicken farm. She has a profile with Steem blockchain, everything is transparent.

I really appreciate your enthusiasm about animals @cryptospa! Much love, you kind soul...

@lyndsaybowes, keep us updated about the gals. It would be nice if in a couple of weeks or months they look like their sister Fanny! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @lyndsaybowes!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.444 which ranks you at #611 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 608).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Best eggs ever. Had a small flock of rescue hens a few years ago. Easy and quiet creatures and it's a pleasure to see them get healthier so quickly. Many are disconnected and don't appreciate the significance of the suffering we impose on animals.

Many are disconnected and don't appreciate the significance of the suffering we impose on animals.

We gotta just keep bringing it to the light. Hopefully more factory farm whistleblowers emerge.

I love that you rescued these chickens, poor things! <3 I told you about that one time I was broke so I just bought cheap eggs for the first time in ...well, years, and how they tasted weird? Yeah. Poor babies were probably suffering so much. I felt so bad. :(
For those city folk like me who don't have tons of options, here's the lingo to try and not support these types of torture factory farms:

doesn't say anything at all: caged chickens

cage-free: no cages but actually less space per chicken (you've seen those photos from inside a giant barn where the floor is covered in chickens? Like that). At least they are able to move and scratch and aren't pooping on each other, but they still are kept inside and crowded.

free range: they have more room and some outside time/access too

pasture raised: they are primarily outside, only being brought inside during inclement weather, and have lots more room.

I know cage free/organic/vegetarian fed eggs are readily available in supermarkets. I don't really know if those chickens are actually treated better or not though.

Oh lynds! I didn't know you rescued your chickens. Thank you for sharing this, it's beautiful. 😍👏👏

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww, I'm happy this is new for you KHackett!! <3 <3 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34