It's Time To Move On With New Additions To Our Family (August Update)

in #homesteading5 years ago

Ever since my dear real life rabbit Marx passed away I've missed having bunnies in my life. Lately I've really missed having baby anythings to take care of. The new ducklings I got in May are all grown up and living outside with their older sisters. Recently, I began scanning craigslist's pets section to look at baby animals for sale. My husband and I came close to getting a kitten and my husband almost bought a mini pig, but then I saw this sweet little face and I was in love....

IMG_1286.JPG

A listing from lady who had two litters of baby bunnies for sale finally brought new babies into my life. Originally, I was only going to get one rabbit. My husband, our 2 year old daughter, and I went to meet the bunnies and my husband wanted a black and white one and I wanted one I saw in the craigslist picture that was brown and white. My husband decided he wanted a rabbit too so we left with two brothers.

Meet Pumpkin Spice

IMG_1312.jpg

And Lenin

IMG_1300.jpg

Pumpkin Spice and Lenin are only five weeks old. I'd forgotten how much I love having rabbits in the house. They are such great pets. I loved my Marx so much and I've missed him dearly. It was hard losing him three years ago. I wasn't ready to have another rabbit until now.

I'm glad we got two rabbits. I remember really regretting Marx not having another of his kind to cuddle with. The last year of his life when I was pregnant and had a baby I couldn't get on the floor with him as much and I really wished he could have had a companion. I think for my two little brothers it's helped their transition.

My daughter is thrilled at having bunnies. She does amazingly well with animals considering she only two (going on three). Pumpkin Spice and Lenin don't seem afraid of her but they are still a bit skittish. I'm slowly introducing them to more of the house but for now they mostly stay in their pen while I work on litter box training them.

IMG_1292.jpg

IMG_1309.jpg

Our oldest cat Vicki seems very happy with the new additions to the family. She hates all other animals except rabbits. She was very close with Marx and I think she's missed him. As soon as we brought the new rabbits home she camped out outside their cage and seems perkier than she's been in years. I'm thinking in her old age these rabbits are just what she needs to find joy and excitement in life again.

So this is my August update. I'm still around but I'm not back. I'm just enjoying the end of summer. Other than some potato plants and beans my garden is done for the year. My husband and I didn't get to garden as much as we wanted too and other than raspberries and a big tomato crop we really didn't accomplish much. There's always next year though.

I hope all my Steemit friends are doing well. I'll be back with posts at some point in the future. I'm enjoying taking a break from writing to just live life.

Sort:  

That's a whole lot of adorableness and I really hope the one bunnies eyes are ok, you'll have to keep us in the loop when you go to the vet.

Wow, new bunnies! It looks like they're settling in well. I don't suppose you'll leave them unattended in the garden! My parents have chasing their wild relatives out of our garden all summer long.

Hope the summer Steam-break is going well.

I doubt they'll being going outside at all. Marx freaked out the one time I put him outside. These boys will be indoor bunnies. I'm suspecting Lenin might be partially blind. His eyes are cloudy in the center and just watching him I think he can't see well. I could be wrong but we'll take him to a vet and have him checked out.

Hey!

I miss seeing you around, my friend...

Hope all is well?

😄😇😉

@creatr

Hello!!!! Everything is alright. I just posted an update post about my whereabouts these days. I've missed you too and being able to write. Maybe by spring I'll make a comeback. Thanks for stopping by to check on me!

Yaaaaayyyy!!

I'm so happy, my dear friend, to hear from you and that all is well! <3

Thank you for your message. :D

And, I truly understand the necessity for breaks and down-time, even from the things we love. ;)

Holy cow! How adorable they are! Hearing about your dear bunny, I understand your screen name now...

I had a bunny when I was a kid. They are such great pets. Congratulations on having more babies, and enjoy your break! We will all look forward to hearing from you when you come back.

I think rabbits are my favorite pets. They're so cute and not a lot of work. I'm really happy having rabbits again. I'm sure I'll have lots of pictures when I return.

Lovely to hear from you again @marxrab and I am in love with your two new additions to your family. They look so soft and cuddly and I'm sure you made the right decision to buy two of them and believe you will get many hours of enjoyment from them.

Taking a break is a good thing to do.......it's all about priorities and family comes first.......every time. Stay well. Be happy and I look forward to your return when the time is right.

They are super soft and fluffy. I'm really happy we got them. They've been exploring the house for the first time today and they are so cute!

Hi - you have been gone a while. O man they are cute. Hope they give you lots of joy and love

I'm sure they will. I am already very happy having them.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I hope they continue to get on well and that they really are both boys. ;D


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Congratulations @marxrab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 54000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

What cuties! I know I'm late to this story, but nonetheless happy to see it.

I hope you and yours are doing well! I've been away from Steemit for all too long, and hope to get back now with some fresh wind in my sails.

Take care, dear friend!

- @creatr

😄😇😄

@creatr

I miss seeing you around, my friend! :D

Hoping you and yours are doing well...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82