These Blooming Periwinkles Are So Screwed

in #homesteading5 years ago

Mother nature has been a total mess this winter. I think good old Mother Nature fell off the wagon and has been hitting the sauce a little too hard with all the crazy weather we've had. Now, here in Tennessee we had flowers starting to bloom on February 26th! Flowers around here really don't bloom until April because it's winter and too cold. The last from of the season usually happens in May and after that the world turns green and beautiful. Right now it's too early.

IMG_0344.JPG

IMG_0343.JPG

I noticed that the periwinkle vines are covering our backyard hill are covered in purple flowers. We had a somewhat warm spell last week but I'm shocked the periwinkles thought it was warm enough to be spring. It's neat to see some bright colors around outside but I wish nature would stay dormant until it's actually time for spring.

IMG_0345.JPG

IMG_0342.jpg

My blueberry bushes are starting to wake up too. That worries me. Last year we had some early warm weather before temps dropped down below freezing. My blueberry container plants woke up and started growing green and flowers bloomed. Then, the freezing temperatures came back for several weeks before actual spring and my blueberries never made a comeback.After my blueberry bushes bloom flowers, eventually blueberries will form in their place. If the flowers die from frost then there may be no blueberries or very few that grow that season.

My almost four year old blueberry container plants are turning green but aren't too far along. They are in such big containers I'd hate to have to move them inside the house. I moved a smaller, one year old plant, into the house because it's pretty far along in waking up. It's showing signs of being ready to bloom. Since it's so young and small I'm protecting it in the kitchen in hopes of getting it to produce it's first blueberries of it's life.

IMG_0406.JPG

My two four year old blueberry plants.

IMG_0405.JPG

My one year old plant waking up from dormancy.

With the crazy amounts of rain this year I'm sick of unpredictable weather. I love winter but this winter has been the most miserable of my life with all the rain we've gotten. I just hope when spring comes the rain will be done for a while and we can enjoy blue skies once again.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Wow we still been in the single digits at night. I so need to get moved!

I hear you! Around here, we are suddenly seeing a few of our primroses starting to bloom... and the piles of snow from shoveling the driveway during our recent "snowpocalypse" have not even fully melted. I worry they will totally get burned by the next freeze we have. We have a few periwinkles giving it a try, too... seems the nature "clock" on everything is a little messed up!

Tomorrow night we're dropping down to 19 degrees so the cold has returned and I'm sure it's going to hurt all the plants that have woken up. Natures' clock is definitely messed up. I hope things stabilize this spring. I'd hate for all this crazy rain to continue and ruin the beginning of gardening season by flooding my yard.

Natures clock is surely messed up! Last year, the Washington, DC Cherry Festival where hundreds of thousands of people pass through was completely ruined by the warming. freezing trend. It killed off half of the trees that had started to bud prematurely.

My periwinkle was blooming in December. It had never died from the summer. We didn't get cold weather until ... we did.

Come on, Mother Nature! Play fair! Hope all is well with you and yours! xo

!tip

This has definitely been a year of crazy weather. I bet the ducks are liking the water down there, though!

We have spring birds singing... and a foot of snow forecast to fall tomorrow.

These flowers remind me of my childhood @marxrab They grew profusely in the area I grew up and I never knew what they were called until now. So, thanks for enlightening me.

The crazy weather patterns all around the world must be very challenging for keen gardeners like yourselves. I hope you have a fabulous spring.

I can’t understand nature mood. Because in our country there are six season. Now is spring. But weather looks so gloomy and cloudy always. This little Periwinkle looks nice. And made me happy. I feel the nature’s beauty.

Posted using Partiko iOS

🎁 Hi @marxrab! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Flirting With Life Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13