3 Plants I Should Have Avoided In My Garden


We have a very productive garden. Most of that production is a result of building great soil since we moved here. There have been a few plants that we have put in the garden that we should have never put here. And its because we have such good fertile soil that makes it very hard to kill them off and correct the mistakes.

NEVER PLANT IN YOUR GARDEN:

  1. Sun chokes (Jerusalem Artichokes
  2. Sorghum
  3. Passion Fruit

I like my garden to stay organized and for things to only grow where I plant them. And I generally rotate plants every year around to new places in the garden. But if you don't care about things growing up everywhere or for plants to be in a particular order, by all means, put a couple of these plants in your garden and just have fun and go nuts.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

When we start a garden we want our garden to be organized just like you so we will not put those plants in our garden.

Sharing to show what "Not" to do for others!

YiKeS!! Thanks for the info Zac....hopefully that might save a few of us out here from planting something we will regret later!

I love sunchokes for their utility and ease of growth. However, I make sure I keep them in a container and used/unwanted soil from them goes straight to the garbage. They are very invasive. I have a couple of bucket containers that have been in my garage since last fall and it's loaded with sunchoke sprouts. No light, no water, no attention and they are still coming back strong!!

If you want sun chokes, plant them in an area that you can mow around, and be careful when you harvest the tubers not to drop them somewhere you don't want sun chokes. Left unchecked they will takeover.... the world;)

Well, I've planted sun chokes last autumn, because we love it, tubers are very healthy and delicious. There are other plants we do not like, the first "enemy" is the spiky mahonia and the second is asparagus, but not the edible one. They were used by florists as some green. The recent owner planted and sold them at the flower market.
The third one is ivy which chokes the trees and very difficult to kill it. Forth is solidago but i've pulled all of them out last year. Fortunately, we have no pokeweed, ailanthus or robinda pseudoacacia.

bamboo?
I hear it takes over too.

VERY TRUE! Bamboo is a blight. :(

I know about and struggle with Sunchokes, a few others you did not mention. Horseradish, Morning Glories, Amaranth, Aka Shiso and Mint. This year I did not get potato volunteers for the first time in about ten years but, still got some tomato.

Good to know! Thanks for sharing!

Re-steeming; good information!
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34