Duck Duck BOOZE! - Using Ducks To Grow GRAPES! - The Vergenoegd Wine Estate VIDEO

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

duckduckbooze.jpg

There are many alternatives to growing sustainable agriculture without the over use of chemical herbicides or pesticides. One unique wine estate located in South Africa has been using Ducks to control a local pest that feeds on its grape vines. In fact, its become so successful that people come from all over the world to see these ducks in action!

Duck Video

Want to see the ducks? I think you will enjoy this quick video I put together of my visit. If you are planning a trip to South Africa, I would highly recommend stopping by this estate. It will be fun for all ages!

c8afef6030

The Vergenoegd Wine Estate

We got to talk with Simon who is one of the head grounds keepers here at the Vergenoegd vineyards. Currently on the grounds of the estate there are over 1400 ducks with about 900 of them patrolling the vineyards. The others are used as breeding ducks and for some other purposes on the grounds.

simon.png

You will also see a number of geese at the estate and they help to guard the young ducklings and duck eggs from predators such as snakes and crow who are looking for an easy meal. So the geese will also patrol the estate and especially around the nesting and breeding areas the ducks use and stand guard!

geese.png

Duck Duck Booze

Located on the estate is a garden, gift shop and more! But the real reason people come to this estate is for the ducks and the wine!

ducks.jpg

They have a number of wines that visitors can buy and take home. Or you can enjoy their wine tasting outdoors while overlooking the grounds of this amazing estate.

wine.jpg

While you are there, you are free to roam out into the garden and estate to see the the vineyards and take pictures. The entire area is pretty and the surrounding scenery makes the visit very enjoyable.

garden.jpg

I especially thought the wifi password was creative. Visitors can roam around and take pictures of the ducks and estate and upload them to their favorite social media site. Of course, that would be Steemit.

wifi.jpg

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

Wow, look at how many ducks there are! I forgot where I heard it, but there's a saying that goes something like you don't have a snail problem, you have a duck deficiency. These guys certainly don't have any shortage of ducks. Seems like a lovely place. Thanks for sharing!

It was an amazing estate and I would highly recommend putting it on your bucket list. Great area!

real amazing estate i would love to visit so i can learn how to keep them

Paul Wheaton says that.

The duck patrol sounds interesting. Taking care of pest in the vineyard...hmmm. Perhaps that would be helpful to me here on the homestead as we have grapes and I refuse to use pesticides or other chemicals. But perhaps they wouldn't fare well with my dogs...

Yeah, dogs might not do well with ducks. I'd rather have the ducks. :)

What a great idea for bug control! That had to be a sight 900 hundred ducks working!

Awwww how amazing! I love ducks! I would love to visit there someday:) great idea all around

Yeah, I had a great time and it would definitely put South Africa and Western Cape on my bucket list.

Good to see that you made it to the Stellenbosch area. If I had known you were going there I'd have contacted some people there and got a crowd up for you. Are the penguins at the boulders still cranky as ever?

I pet one and it hissed at me! LOL Loved being there and I may be back one day. This time with my family.

If you could pet them your a better man than me. Is there a place online where you discuss why you were there? If so, please direct me to it. I look forward to hearing where you were and what you saw.

Look at all those ducks!! I bet it was noisy?

It was an amazing sight! Yes there was lots of quacking!

P.S. Do you have any duck raising experience? I showed this video to my husband this morning and he said he’d rather raise ducks than chickens.

No, we like our chickens. They eat a lot of insects ducks will not eat.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

real amazing estate i would love to visit so i can learn how to keep them
cause we also have a good environment to keep them so that i can do some thing different from the people around me.

Muy hermosas las imagenes de esos animaliitos que embellecen nuestra naturaleza, y son tan necesarios como todos en esta vida e importantes

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @thejohalfiles valued at 138.55 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @mericanhomestead, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1401 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7657.53. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97