A Brief Update on The Miniature Smallholding.

Tuesday morning I woke to the refreshing smell of rainfall. It was nothing heavy, but it brought that bit of relief to the garden that only rainfall can. Plants survive on tap water, but rarely thrive on it. I guess it's the chlorine in it which creates a toxic environment for the important bacteria which the plants need to successfully take on nutrients.

Unfortunately, the rain was short lived, so I was adding more water in the afternoon.

I mentioned that all my plants survived the extreme hot day, but it may have been the beginning of the end for one or two plants which have deteriorated since.

My daughter needs to get more night time driving hours in to get her provisional license, so we took a trip up to visit @ligayagardener and take that lovely datura plant up to him.

IMG_20190208_190807.jpg

I'm still in awe of how much he fits into his little front garden and got to see how he has turned his narrow, concreted rear garden into a productive growing space with the use of aquaponics. He is a great example of what can be achieved when you think you don't have the room to grow food and a real inspiration. I must make another trip in the daytime to get some more ideas for the front.

Hopefully we're nearing completion of the of my eldest’s bedroom and I'll have a bit more time for things in the garden again. I've got so many plans, but little time to implement them.

With empty cages again, now that Snow has found her forever home and our little old man has gone, I've bit the bullet and let Fern and Polar Bear have a day together.

IMG_20190208_192846.jpg

Next month we should have a litter of kits. I've also put quail eggs in the incubator, so they should hatch later this month.


~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube


Join Us On Discord

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It was nice to see you and meet Angel. Athena also says woof!

Posted using Partiko Android

My graveyard... er garden didn't fair well in the heat one bit .-.

Some more rain would be wonderful. Maybe we could take some off of Queensland's hands.

It's not even all parts of Queensland getting that much either, is it! I don't think they'll share with us when other parts of the state want it too.
Sorry to hear about your graveyard. I've just come in from outside where it's teasing me with some tiny flecks of rain. I don't think there will be much relief any time soon. :(

Posted using Partiko Android

Such a shame, and still the people who represent us do such little to combat climate change.

My mint survived, that was about it. I'll wait until winter again to get some greens going, they went berserk last year. I love the mild weather, bit I'm certianly sick of summer. Bring on the cooler months and the rain.

I hope it's a wetter winter than our last one.
I don't think they represent us, just themselves. Been watching some old Australian Story episodes on Peter Andrews. https://www.abc.net.au/austory/of-droughts-and-flooding-rains---part-1/9169558 This was back in 2005, but I don't think there's been an awful lot of interest taken up by government types.

Posted using Partiko Android

That sprinkle was a bit of a tease, wasn't it? Just enough to keep my weeds alive.
How many hours to get your P's now?

Are those chickens still not keeping on top of your weeds?
I think she's got less than 20 hours left. There's still the practical and the hazards perception tests to go as well, though. They kindly increased all the prices for them last year too.

Posted using Partiko Android


No, our chickens would rather sit on the window ledge and peck the fly screen than actually get in amongst the weeds. I'm going to have to roll up my sleeves and rip a tonne of them out.
Once the bulk is gone, theoretically at least, the chooks should be able to stay on top of it.

Haha, your chickens need a good talking too. For a moment I thought you meant you were going to roll up your sleeves and pull the CHICKENS out!

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 250 posts. Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Oooh, can't wait to see the babies!

We've had a bit of rain this week too, exciting stuff. I'm going to take some photos and share a gardening post, you've inspired me and I haven't done one in a while.... it's about time. Plus, I'm slightly hungover so I dont think I could do much more....

I got excited this morning! We had another little rain storm. Not sure how much though. It was a few, heavy showers where I was, but I don't think we got as much back home.

Posted using Partiko Android

Us too!!! And did gardening today without frying!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30