Overcoming the Drawbacks of Small Scale Urban Homesteading: Keeping LivestocksteemCreated with Sketch.

We are pretty lucky that our council has recommendations rather than regulations when it comes to keeping chickens. However, if it did have restrictions I would probably just stick to breeding quail instead. If need be you could even do this small scale indoors and classify them as pets.

IMG_20170815_191410.jpg
quail are certainly cute enough to get away with being classed as pets!

Quite soon on we decided we wanted to make the best use of the chickens in the garden. Initially my husband built a couple of chicken tractors and we thought we could move these around the garden so they could weed and till for us. Unfortunately chicken tractors and small spaces do not go well and if I actually moved the tractor as often as needed I wouldn't have anything left growing!

So I came up with a different plan. We were having some parasite problems of both the animal and the plant kind. Root knot nematode had started affecting some of the crops and the chickens were getting lice and roundworm. Chicken manure is known to help get rid of root knot in the soil and moving chickens periodically to new ground is known to reduce the worm load from worm eggs building up in the soil. So we built fully enclosed runs along the back of the garden which are wild bird proof. I treated the lice and haven't had problems since, now the wild birds are not coming into contact with them. However, worms can still get in via droppings as the roof on the runs is wire mesh. So managing them was the aim.

IMG_20170926_194803.jpg

The coop is set to open out into two possible runs. While the chickens are in one run, I grow in the other giving it time to break the round worm cycle. Meanwhile the chickens are breaking the cycles of any plant problems in the other run. When the growing season is over, we swap the runs. This has other benefits too. When the chickens go into the new run they clear up any weeds, bugs and spent veggies, cutting back on the amount of commercial feed I need to give them for a couple of days. Then their old run is weed free and fertilised ready for plant the next season's

IMG_20170926_195033.jpg

Although I can't feed the chickens entirely from the homestead, I try to feed as much as I can from it to cut down on the amount of commercial feed coming in. So they are also our composters. Any none toxic weeds and scraps from the kitchen go into their run and either go through the chicken digesters or get dug into the soil. Any bugs that eat our plants can also go to the chickens. As they dig around in the runs, they unearth more bugs and sprouted seeds. Really, the commercial feed also becomes part of the composted soil, so it does have a second purpose in helping with not needing to buy in compost.

Besides adding weeds and scraps to the runs I try to add as much carbonaceous material as I can to soak up the manure and keep any smells at bay. If I can source it for free I do, for example shredded cardboard, paper and autumn leaves. I do buy in straw and wood shavings in. Mostly these are used for our other animals first (chicks, house quail and rabbits) before they go to the chicken runs. Although sometimes I'll have to use it direct when the weather is very wet. This breaks down with the help of the chickens and their manure adding much needed carbon to the soil.

Another way we sometimes use the chickens as helpers is by putting them under a light weight cage top on areas we want weeding. It's a bit like using a chicken tractor, except on a much smaller, lighter scale and it's not permanent.

IMG_20170926_195958.jpg

I do believe if we had few enough animals we probably could feed them just from the garden, but they would probably not be able to contribute much more than as manure providers and we'd still have to buy eggs in on top. At the level we have them now, we are able to sell enough chicks and trade enough eggs to cover feed costs and the costs of straw bales and other nesting and bedding materials.


Here are my previous posts in this series if you missed them:

#1
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/overcoming-the-drawbacks-of-small-scale-urban-homesteading-introduction

#2
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/overcoming-the-drawbacks-of-small-scale-urban-homesteading-using-every-space

#3
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/overcoming-the-drawbacks-of-small-scale-urban-homesteading-planting-choices

#4
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/overcoming-the-drawbacks-of-small-scale-urban-homesteading-trading-and-outsourcing

You can also find us on:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/minismallholding/
Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/minismallholding/
YouTube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCBwcsmyIkW_hIEJdLUSd44

Sort:  

This is a good idea...

Another way we sometimes use the chickens as helpers is by putting them under a light weight cage top on areas we want weeding. It's a bit like using a chicken tractor, except on a much smaller, lighter scale and it's not permanent.

I am going to try that with one of the old rabbit cages on top of the raised beds over winter.

Thank you

👍 An old rabbit cage top was my first lightweight tractor! The other ones are mesh panels strapped together. Hope it works well for you.

Yes, I do this too. As you wrote, chicken tractor's don't really work in small spaces so my hens are confined to static runs but I bring them out when I'm turning over a bed or need some weedy bits pecked through and do as you say - works a treat.

I also do it at home thanks to integrated farming program. please see my blog

Good job in re-inventing the chicken tractor. Honestly, I believe the scale and the shape are just secondary aspects. What's important is that you manage your land by giving access to the chickens in certain places, while restricting them in others. My favorite part: you break even in the end. Sure, you have to buy feed and straw and things, but by selling eggs and hatchlings you make up for that. (Everything you eat in forms of eggs, veggies, or even meat is on top of that.)

Yes, very true. I did forget to factor in the savings side from purchasing less food!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

very good view how you take.

I enjoy these little insights into different aspects of your homestead. I want to do some of this when I buy my own house so it's great research :)

Thank you. I glad if it's of some help.

you can also make organic concentrate feed with your household waste. and the chicken will be healthy if you eat it. and the chicken will be far from the disease in the time of panca roba (change of weather). because organic concentrate feed from household waste can provide anti-body for your chickens. take a look at my blog on how to make organic feed from household waste. good luck to you. thank you

Interesting. That's something I'll look into, thank you.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 95.59 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Please follow me and vote me @bilqis07

good post thank. I'm @ilyasismail from Aceh Indonesia

Wow....what a hard working...using experience to tackle issues...good one to convert your quails into pets ...😏 @minismallholding very nice post. Keep it up dear... I also did update some weeks ago about chickens & today on quails. Lots of tips...take a look.

Great update! How can you tell when your chickens have internal parasites? Is it in their droppings?

Yes. Sometimes it's streaks of blood, sometimes actual whole worms.

I haven't seen any signs of that, so I think we are good here. I pay way more attention to my chickens' shits than any sane person should.

😂😂 who wants to be sane!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23