Fall Vegetable Planting at "Fuss & Feathers"

In an HOMAGE to @aunt-deb I have planted my own version of her "Rag Tag" garden.

Earlier in the week the temperature was perfect for a bit of planting. Having purchased my seeds the previous week. I stirred up some composed material and set out to sow some seeds.

It was several days later when I finally got back to them and this is what had happened!

Let's hope the lessons I have read on here are seeping in!

One cannot survive on EGGS alone!

IMG_2426.JPG

KALE-------now 1 week old.

IMG_2429.JPG

COLLARDS----------goes with everything

IMG_2428.JPG

IMG_2427.JPG

GREEN BEANS--------2 buckets because we Love our beans!

IMG_2425.JPG

POTATOES-----------last seasons left overs. Anticipation.

IMG_2431.JPG

IMG_2431.JPG

ASPARAGUS----------planted now for 9 months. 3 new tips growing

IMG_2430.JPG

TURMERIC---------- a first. We love the freshness and flavor.

With a little fertilizer even these solar lights popped up! Easy to grow!

IMG_2433.JPG

Thank you to all of you homesteaders out there that kept me motivated to give it another shot this fall. We still have carrots and arugula and a few other greens to plant. Not to mention onions and garlic.

If all goes well, you will see some great looking vegetables soon.

Happy Growing!

IMG_1087.JPG
All text and photographs owned by @mother2chicks

Sort:  

Looking fantastic! I love me some collards and potatoes! If you'd have any interest in checking it out, I actually just posted a writeup on homemade insecticide that you can grow at home so you can keep all pests at bay from your pretty plants.

I also sent you a follow and look forward to seeing your future posts.

Hey bobwhite thanks for that. Will check it out. 🐓🐓

Love those solar lights. How soon do you think you can pull them and do you have a specific recipe in mind? lol The container gardens seem to be doing really well. I'll be interested in seeing how the asparagus does...

Those lights look like it's nearly time to harvest them. I hear they are best when they start to dim. I am going @jaymorebeet what she recommends as far as a recipe is concerned. Thanks for reading. Lol🐓🐓

You're welcome.

Those solar lights are looking about ready to harvest lol

Still a tad green! Lol🐓🐓

I want solar light seeds!!!

They are available at Wally World😉🐓

So jealous of your kale! It does horribly here! I "planted" some new solar lights yesterday as well ☺️

The fall gardens do better here, summer was a bomb with the exception of red organic potatoes and the Tumeric.
You know I placed those solar lights in the planter after the hurricane to charge, they were handy "Mood" lighting after the power went out. I was walking down the stairs and thought it was funny, they looked like they sprouted! So I included them in the post. Ha!

That was actually a great idea, I stocked up on some more from Walmart they were only 79 cents imagine that!
My turmeric is not doing too well. And my potatoes got pincher bugs :(

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

nice setup youve got there

An excellent assortment! I was pleased to see you trying your own TURMERIC too! It's on our to do list!

Bought the roots at the organic grocery store. Months later they popped up. 🐓🐓

Dang, girl, look at you go!! I'm impressed with the variety and progress. You're really making some headway. Especially with the asparagus, which takes tons of patience!

Those solar lights are cute... haven't seen the seeds for those yet. I'll have to search a little harder for 'em. ;~P

(Thanks for the shout out, @mother2chicks! That was very sweet!)

What I forgot to mention is that most all of the containers except for the solars are inside of a dog kennel. We have a few deer here so it seemed like a good idea to keep the critters out. Hope they give us a good little harvest. Thanks for all you do for me. Inspiration and a daily communication go a long way here@🐓🐓

Good thinking on deer-proofing and sounds like a prime location to do the job. The deer are in for a surprise when they try to nibble the 'glow-flowers'. Lol!

Hugs, hon! You're welcome and back atcha!

Congratulations @mother2chicks, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 958 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1616.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you for your statistics. It is appreciated. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69684.47
ETH 3531.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73