Late Summer Flower Medicine

Late summer is an incredible time on the homestead. It is the season of fruition when so much of our efforts “show themselves” in the form of delightful flowers!

Take a walk with me as we go around the homestead taking a deep whiff of the bounty of beauty that is here!

Some of these flowers were taken from my mom and dad’s place in Indiana, where I grew up. My mom, @birdsinparadise, had an amazingly diverse array of flowers that she grew, mostly perennials. By the time they moved, she had worked out the flowering so that something was nearly always blooming!

This pink flowering sedum is from her. It’s the first time it’s bloomed and I love seeing it.

72ABE6E0C7324090AD853540FC9F5A69.jpeg2AE3EA3E126B4BF59AF11710291119A0.jpeg

Sedum with a cockscomb


There are also some “volunteers” I’ve been coaxing along.

I am a very lax flower bed gardener. I’m not trying to kill myself here to have the best maintained or perfectly weed free beds... I just want a thriving diversity!

One flower I am very happy to have here (that I will write a full post on one of these days) is the Moonflower aka Sacred Datura. This was a “weed” that showed up. I’m very happy to have it here. In the evenings it attracts so many insects with its glorious smell!

562C6FBE345444F89AD623EB2C48C17E.jpeg5753E9BAC49C4640ADC033FEC5D0F4CF.jpeg


Next is another naturalized flower.

It is one that is re-flowering. I thought this was finished as it’s already had a flower set turn to seed.

6A29E7B47B6D4EEAA97C872EFF430015.jpeg

Mullein

I love this plant- a very formidable Medicine as well! Can you see the spider hanging out?


Next we have a favorite plant that has flowered and gone to seed, the stinging nettle.

As its name suggests, this plant has a bite! And we love to bite it, after we cook it, as it’s chocked full of nutrients!

7970CA5C7FFA463F90841B915D64D3B7.jpeg


This next plant is a re-seeded volunteer.

Its sugary stocks make a syrup that is boiled down in the Ozarks often. A tasty treat! We just grow these tall babes for fun. I love to mix up the flowers on the homestead tall, short & in between :)

CBB71B4586E34DC18942E7EAE9C63C01.jpeg

Sorghum


We also have marigolds that are gracing the understory of another flower, the cosmos. I love growing marigolds as companion plants as they often confuse bad bugs who would thwart our tomatoes!

8EE2996EA2A24AF6890A26DDCB2D6A38.jpeg


Each year I like to add a few flowers here and there and collect the seeds for the next year. I also favor perennials which will return year to year.

When I first moved here I had the desire to plant plant plant, getting so much in the ground... yet like so much, everything takes time and patience. A homestead is built with the patient peeling back of soil to tuck root by root and the sowing of seeds year to year in hope of late summer majesty.

I find flowers a most practical addition to any garden. Why is that? Because flowers delight the spirit and nourish the soul (not to mention they attract an amazing host of birds, insects and other wildlife). This nourishment gives us inspiration and courage along our path, which is sometimes just as important as food.

For without motivation, we don’t get very far for very long. I’m so thankful for these flowers and how they enrich my life. I greet them with a gentle smile.

Sort:  

I love it! I love every piece of it @mountainjewel. I can't imagine how beautiful life is in your place. So much green and flowers.

flowers delight the spirit and nourish the soul

I totally agree with you. For me that was also the reason why flowers are a top pick for courtship and a way to show condolence when we lost someone in life.

I used to plant marigolds with my tomatoes to keep the bugs away. It worked. I have to figure out things I can grow indoors this Winter. I would love to be able to have some sorts of veggies growing in the house if that's possible.

Nourishing and inspirational post ;) Great photos. When I was growing up we had huge gardens and my dad always planted marigolds next to the tomatoes. I was sure if that was effective. Sounds like its a real thing.

Glad to see the sedum in bloom! I love your flowers at the homestead! The butterflies love them as weel :) Every year they get better :)

You are going to miss all of these blossoms and Blooms come winter. Hopefully I can provide the antidote to that with my spring excitement.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just dehydrated marigolds for the hens in winter yesterday. I still have a pretty good showing of all kinds of flowers in the New Herb garden: nasturtiums, anise hyssop, sunset hyssop, echinacea, yarrow, calendula, chicory, butterflyweed, tansy, ziinias, balsam, toothache plant, holy basil, catnip, garlic chives, stocks, and dill.

I really love your flower garden.
So beautiful and no wonder it brings you smile on your face.
Love the beauty of nature.
Have a great Friday @mountainjewel

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.506 which ranks you at #1800 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1809).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Such good information on flowers. As a gardener I am always fascinated by the qualities of plants other than beauty and food.

I love sedum too and this is the season for it. it looks like a celosia or coxcomb there in the picture with the sedum? I love those velvety flowers that look like a rooster's comb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70