Seasonal Eating and Local Abundance

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)


Today I was reflecting on how my views and perspectives on diet have changed throughout the years.

As with the changing of seasons I too have changed what I choose to eat. In this vlog I highlight the nourishing soup I am preparing and talk about what it means to eat locally.

8686E12F-82C4-422F-BFB0-CE802149FCAD.jpeg

Today's food from the homestead and forest for our soup!


During my 8 years as a vegan, I have gained a great deal of perspective on what food means to me. Since living on the homestead and focusing more diligently at meeting my food needs I have allowed in a great amount of changes. I now respectfully raise, hunt or barter for the meat I eat.

It’s one thing to know in the head what foods are good, but a whole other thing when you have to grow, hunt or harvest that food.

64505774-89AE-46E1-8B20-174DB013BCBE.jpeg

Wood Ear Mushroom Wildharvested, Oyster and Shiitake grown on the land

Eating seasonally means adapting your diet to the opportunities around you.

This may mean a lot of a certain food at one time of the year and forgoing it in others. As fall quiets the land with the cool and calm energy, I’m inspired to make food that reflects this season. Chicken soup is a perfect meal for a chilly fall day. Made with one of our pastured hens and produce from the land, I am honored to prepare seasonal and local food.
B29FD913-6782-49FF-912E-064B3A78A878.jpeg

Green tomato, dill, Anaheim chili, arugula and garlic!


This soup was made with 100% local food (minus salt) and we are grateful for the opportunity to eat so well. The soup is made with foraged wood ear fungi, shiitake and oysters mushrooms, pastured chicken, butternut squash, potatoes, green tomatoes, garlic, dill and Anaheim peppers.

01977791-C902-4162-A075-4E5B0315ACA4.jpeg

Potatoes and squash!

Are there ways you shift your diet with the seasons?

Are there any ways that you are set in your ways?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Ini....each minute of this video is beautiful brother!!!!!! testify! all kingdoms...of LIFE! that looks like the best broth ever!!!!!!!!!!!! i wish i was there eating ....in gratitude...that love filled food you grew and harvested from the land...including that hen. geez...ya'll just inspire me so dang much!!!!!!!! chicken soup ...from the land! our paths seem very similar bro. very. :) i love you so much! felt you on this one. re steemed

So glad you enjoyed. I made it to be enjoyed and digested. Yes to all the kingdoms, although we were missing the red food group until we added some ripe jalapeños ;)

OMG, there was so much fat on this hen it was off the hook. The broth was more like a rue... Truly enjoying the fat of the land! Nothing makes broth like a pastured chicken. Expect maybe a duck, or goose or turkey. For real, this is eating well!

I'm always amazed how you can pump up the positivity. You got a great knack for making my heart smile.

I agree that out paths run parallel, perhaps that's why we resonate so much. Deep gratitude for you and your appreciation. Much love brother Jake and thanks for the resteem.

We're all stronger together and you make that apparent Everytime you drop by.

We vary our diet some seasonally. From farmers markets and also just what is in season from grocery. We have a little food we grow just a few fruit trees and tomatoes. One of the things we do consciously is avoid processed food was much as possible.

one of the major woes of society is that processed food is always in season. Props for avoiding it. That's great you get to grow a little and appreciate what's seasonally growing. I love it when I get to try a new food that is only seasonally available.

Awesome Ini! My hubby and I both watched and were just nodding and mmmmming through the whole thing haha
Whike we still are suburban homesteading, we are considering a veg lifestyle. But we will be helping our friends process their turkeys, and in a weird way looking forward to the learning experience.
What do you guys raise for meat? It's amazing that you give them a good healthy loving home. We especially appreciated your thoughts on being stewards, so true! Keep up the good work, we love watching these blogs. 😍

Xx ToL

Nodding and mmmming is the intended response.... Love it!

Ya know when I was vegan I helped some friends when they needed help butchering their 60 chickens
And was always down to skin up road kill to practice hide tanning. There's so much to learn, and I respect y'all for giving it a go. There's a lot of humility, respect and honor that I find comes when respectfully harvesting animals.

We raised these hens mostly for eggs. We also raised a few goats last year, but soon realized that we are not set up for fencing animals. They're crafty buggers! I hunt dear, squirrels and armadillos and we barter for grass fed beef. I'm still a public vegetarian as generally won't eat meat from a suspect source. I still think the best home is one that wild animals inhabit and value hunting as a viable means of sustenance, although I'm new to the scene as an adult onset hunter.

Happy you're enjoying the content. Thanks for the support <3

Great post. Actually maintain a healthy balanced diet is really important to health but there are some people out there that are very poor that it is what ever that comes their way they eat. So what can we say to those type of people??

Posted using Partiko Android

You raise a great point about those who lack funds to access good food. Furthermore, there is also often a lack of access to land. With this said, I believe the best food is free and wild, therefore where possible wild crafting offers the most nutritious food. Sadly impoverish folks live in urban centers and don't have access to healthy food. There is global momentum for raising insects that allows healthy high protein food to be grown in small spaces with few inputs or start up costs. Great point though, and a serious problem for millions around the world.

So true HUNTING for FOOD is a lost skill, there is so much food available everywhere, you just have to know what is eatable.

Ya, and it's up to us to not let it be lost any longer. There's abundance for those who seek and much to be learned. We are always learning if we choose to be :)

Congratulations @mountainjewel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mountainjewel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for your honest opinions about your diet! Opinions and ideologies about diet can easily get so dogmatic that people forget all rational thinking and simply try to stuff everything into a readymade box even when it doesn't even fit it. I'm someone who is all for plant based eating yet I don't think 100% veganism is for everybody, and that we should find a way to both respect the animals that we are eating if we choose to do so, but also not neglect the needs of our own bodies. I'm still slightly conflicted though, because I do usually opt for fully plant based if possible, but sometimes simply cannot due to circumstances, and that is when I do end up eating meat, yet I try to do so respectfully and mindfully.
Happy to hear more people talk about their diet in a non-dogmatic yet thoughtful way. :)!

Great response @scintilliac. I have mellowed on diet over the years, and was WAY more idealogically based in the past. I think I've seen the stuffing of ideas into a misfit box many times over... Now it's all about what feel right and what can I actually produce, harvest or barter locally. There will always be room for cacao though...

I respect all people's choose to put whatever the heck they want in their bodies as long as it's not causing harm. That's where the vegan vs omnivore conversation can get really nuanced. Does eating almond mylk grown in monoculture orchards do less harm than consuming locally pastured cows milk? Is it better to eat a wild animal like deer that is at or over the carrying capacity for the land than it is to till arable soil in the pursuit of annual pulses or grains? The truth is I have no idea except my own...

I've seen a lot of vegans forsake their bodies in pursuit of an ideal, myself include. That said I'm not saying ANYONE should eat anything they don't want. I respect your choice to eat what is available with respect and mindfulness. The only right answer to what is the best diet is "it depends".

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.752 which ranks you at #1419 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 1430).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Really good content @mountainjewel you defiantly give me something to think about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17