Blackie the Cruisin' Chick

This little gal has learned to hunker down, hang on, and enjoy (?) the ride of being a pet chicken--quite literally.

IMG_8046.jpg
Where we going today, partner?

All of our adult hens are tame--and amazingly tolerant--to one extent or another, but since Blackie is Pixie's very own pet chicken, she gets special consideration and adventures. None of the other chickens have gotten to cruise on the power wheels :)

IMG_8049.jpg
They picked up a hitchhiker!

When she's not cruising in a homesteading hot rod, Blackie frequently gets toted around like this:

IMG_7934.jpg
Who needs a doll when they have a chicken?

This is my entry to @knowledge-seeker's weekly Homesteading Photography Contest, since this week's theme is Animals on the Homestead!

I hope the pictures made you smile! Have a great day!

Sort:  

You should write a children’s book Your post read a little like a children’s book to me ❤️.

You know what's funny? I have a book from my childhood about a little girl and her mischievous kitten, illustrated by lots of photographs, and I've actually thought about doing something similar with Pixie and the chickens ;)

That would be so cute!

How adorable are your children!

Thank you @buckaroo! I think so too 😁

Wow, Blackie is incredibly tame! Looks like your kids have tons of fun at the homestead. I can't wait till we are set up.

You're going to have so much fun watching them play on your homestead--I feel so lucky every day that we get to do this!

Can I say that I am loving the relationship between your girl and her chicken?? Sooooo sweet! 💜💜💜

Yes you can! :) I find it very sweet, too!

Why did the Chicken cross the road? Well because that is where the John Deere 4x4 took him naturally...why else?

Looks like that chicken has the good life there and talk about survival skills. It figured out to latch onto the a little girl and never have to face the chopping block.

Ha!! I like that :) I bought Blackie on semi-impulse and bestowed her upon Pixie within a few minutes of starting to drive home with her. No way could Blackie ever end up in a stewpot!

Chickens are super social creatures and so sensitive glad this little girl is loved by her little girl <3

Very much so! I find it endearing and funny at the same time :)

This is one of thebest things I've ever read on Steemit! 💚

I'm glad to hear that! Thank you!! :)

The pictures are adorable. Riding around with a pet chicken. The chicks do put up with a lot. I guess they have figured out they will be caught anyway so just enjoy. 🐓🐓

Haha! These two look like two peas in a pod. I can remember several years ago, we had a bourbon red turkey that would do the same thing. She would follow us everywhere. Great Job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29